We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hotels in Asia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kiridara to your Saves list
Kiridara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22/13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“One of my favourite hotels in Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I just spent one year in Asia, splitting my time between serviced apartments and hotels, and the Kiridara is in my top 3 hotels. I did not personally select the hotel; it was booked by an agency as part of a tour. The agent had told me that no one had ever complained about spending time at this place, and he was right!
The hotel is small, which is perfect for a woman travelling alone. The design of the hotel is original, comfortable, and fits in perfectly with the surrounding landscape. The rooms are spacious and well equipped.
The staff was nice, helpful, and really focused on customer service and customer satisfaction.
You can ask the hotel staff for a ride downtown by tuk tuk. They can also pick you up once you are done.
Overall, excellent value for money, memorable experience. I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind note in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us to strive for perfection.
we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    70
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
174
39
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in Kiridara in July 2013 during our honeymoon. We were lucky to be upgraded to the Kiridara Villa in the centre of the city. It was wonderful. The villa is very big, on two floors and very beautiful. We also had a butler who took good care of us.
We can highly recommend the Kiridara Hotel and Kiridara Villa. I think it's the nicest hotel in Luang Prabang. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us to strive for perfection.
we look forward to seeing you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We transferred to the Kiridara after finding our booked Hotel to be appalling.
From the warm welcome by the manager to our departure 4 days later we were really impressed.
Our room was spacious, clean and very well appointed, with a wonderful deck.
The pool bar and restaurants were staffed by friendly, attentive people, the food was excellent.
While Kiridara is a few minutes from LP central it was not a problem. The free shuttle was available and the local tuktuk was about US$2. We were actually pleased to be away from the noise of the centre.
The spa was great, and very good value. The swimming pool was very welcome in the LP heat.
Would only stay here if we return to Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Room 24 , close to pool, restaurant, nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your stay with us and for your lovely comments in TripAdvisor.
we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is amazing. The rooms are beautiful, the beds super comfortable, the food great. Service is attentive and friendly. We went ti the Spa twice and loved both (especially the lao traditional massage). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us to strive for perfection.
we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Place is beautifully designed, great architecture, nicely appointed rooms, great pool area, very nice area for breakfast, and some of the staff were very nice and provided very good service. Negatives- front dest staff were aloof and sometimes incompetent, lots of construction nearby, rooms needed to be cleaner, cleaner didn't change out things that one would expect they would clean up, cart rides back from town were hard to come by, and these negatives made me feel like the value wasn't good. If they would straighten up there act this could be very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind note, have taken note of your negative experience and will make sure to rectify it at the soonest.

we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here with family during my birthday, end of June. The room was beautiful, spacious & comfortable. Breakfast is amazing, a la carte, you will eat definitively too much. The free shuttle service is great as well & all hotel employees make you feel special.

We also visited the SPA, great experience and a really relaxing massage. We were only unlucky with the weather (3 days rain) but still enjoyed ourselves.

I specially like to thank Khun Golf for the excellent service, birthday cake & personal touch during our entire visit. Will definitely return during my next visit to Luang Prabang.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us to strive for perfection.
we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a great hotel with a beautiful view and new property (I think all rooms have a view of the pool and mountains). Considering most hotels in Luang Prabang dont have pools, the infinity pool at Kiridara is great. Staff is very friendly and helpful, everyone from the General Manager (Francis) to the waiter at the poolbar (who kept stretching happy hour for us and giving us free mixers).

There are some really nice touches to the hotel, small things that make the stay really pleasant. I.e. The welcome basket, daily baked goods placed in the room (cookies/cupcakes/muffins), to the flavoured water they serve you at the gym, etc.

Food is great, had one of the best burgers of my life there, and breakfast does not disappoint (try the rice porridge or poached eggs). Happy hours daily from 5-7 at 50% off quality cocktails and other drinks.

Didnt try the Spa.. but I hear its great.

There are two shortcomings however:
- The hotel is a bit far from the town centre, but they do compensate by making shuttles available to/from the hotel between 5am-10pm (just call them if you want to go anywhere or want to be picked up).
- The gym is a bit sad...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much Prast for your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, we have taken note of the Gym and will rectify it at the soonest.
we look forward to seeing you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Address: 22/13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiridara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.