We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kiridara to your Saves list
Kiridara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22/13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at the Kiridara at the end of April. What a great experience. The room was perfect, large and comfortable with a balcony over viewing the pools and mountains. I also enjoyed the pool and the outdoor restaurant at night. The best part is the management. They booked a great guide and transportation to enjoy Luang Prabang activities, booked reservations at local restaurantes, had everything ready to take us to a great spot to enjoy the morning alms procession with the Buddhist monks and assisted me to change me flight all done cordially and very efficiently. They provide free shuttles and bikes to go to the town. It’s a great hotel overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind note in TripAdvisor, which will motivate the staff to strive for perfection.
we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    70
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
174
39
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Kiridara for four nights. Our room was very large and had all mod cons. It also has a great pool with a beautiful view. Breakfast was also very good, where we could of eat for England.There was also daily bottled water put in our rooms along with a very NICE cake in the evening.
The hotel provided a free shuttle into town which is only five minutes away, they would also collect you at any time or you could call them. There are bikes to use.
The service was first rate from everybody and they even gave us a late check out without any charge. The manger was on hand and would go out of his way too help in anyway he could. Really loved this place and would go back tomorrow if i could. This was a five star day dream. BIG time thanks going out too Kiridara.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for you lovely comments in TripAdvisor, which will encourage and motivate the staff to strive for perfection.
we look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I recently stayed at the Kiridara for 3 nights and I absolutely enjoyed my stay. The location and architecture of the hotel are stunning. The room I stayed was large and comfortable with a nice king size bed with a soft mattress, very nice and quiet!
They provide with bicycles for free and also with a shuttle to the town centre whenever you want, that comes very handy.
I haven't tried the spa but the pool area is very nice with a lovely infinite pool, only 6 sun chairs though.
The service at the Pool and at the Breakfast were amazing, at the reception so so...nothing extraordinary. I met the manager on my last day and he was very nice and attentive.
I thought the shuttle to the airport was overpriced.
All in all, i really like the Kiridara and may come back in the future and I hope they will provide a more personal service with recommendations and suggestions on what to do in the city, etc.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Easy-going staff and a beautifully-designed hotel made our 4 nights here worth the 5 stars. We asked for a different room within 5 mins of our arrival (because of an exceptionally noisy baby next door) and got upgraded without quibble. That's a good start! And we asked for, and got, late check-out on our last day.

The hotel is an architectural triumph - steps and secret passages all seem to lead somewhere, beautiful vernacular architecture and contemporary well-appointed rooms. The pool is really cool, with dark walls and bottom, and a large section which is ankle-deep - fun for lazing in (would be great for babies too), and the staff will happily serve your beer Lao right there).

A fresh cake magically appeared each evening in our room, along with unlimited bottled water. Staff turn-down your room and light a candle in the oil burner to keep the mozzies down. AC is silent (and concealed) and there is a big (quiet) ceiling fan over the bed. The bed is, without exception, the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel.

The complimentary hotel tuc-tuc will take you into town, and will pick you up again (before 10pm) - I would recommend tipping your driver.

Breakfast was good, above average. You can order some items (such as eggs, etc) from a menu, and everything else such as fruit, pancakes, pastries is buffet style - but they will prepare anything fresh for you on request, even if its already on the buffet. I liked this arrangement, because it reduces food wastage, and guarantees hot, fresh eggs and bacon. Try the eggs benedict. Breakfast is on the veranda by the pool except if its wet.

The hotel is located in a very unspecific part of town - not in the centre, and not in the quiet serenity of the countryside - a pretty uninspiring location, but the beautiful gardens and pool help to make up for that. Takes about 10-15 mins to walk into town (or 5 mins in the tuc tuc), so no big deal.There is a local market nearby (out of the hotel and turn left) with various shops for filling up on drinks and snacks if you need.

I found the prices inside the hotel to be quite high - spa treatments, airport transfers and drinks especially. Saying that, we had a short free massage every single day by the pool and we got a complimentary mojito one day! We chose not to eat dinner in the hotel - with so many fantastic restaurants in LP, we never got round to it.

Overall, we had a 5 star stay in Kiridara - the laid-back staff and generous approach of the hotel - a few great touches here and there - made it a really great and relaxing experience for us.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a bit public, adjacent to the pool and one of the pathways. Ask for a room higher up - loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for you lovely comments in TripAdvisor, which will encourage and motivate the staff to strive for perfection.
we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Kiridara is a nice place but not too close to the old city. The rooms are new and contemporary but beware, the first one we were shown had a moldy smell to it. We complained and they gave us another room. The management of this hotel is very good and if I'm not mistaken from the same management company who manages the excellent 137 Pillars House in Chang Mai, Thailand. The service here is similar to many places in Laos, not quite ready for prime time. Sometimes the order of service and tipping gets confused. The veranda breakfast was good and the service. Wine prices at the hotel are high. This will, eventually, be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: If you use the Tuk Tuk to go into town, tip the driver if you want to be picked back up (this may ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind note, and for sharing you experience in TripAdvisor, we look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you can afford to treat yourself, consider paying a bit extra to stay at the Kiridara. It is wonderfully situated overlooking Luang Prabang with a view across the valley to the mountains, We had booked a deluxe mountain view room but were upgraded to a suite with so many rooms, terraces and gardens that we lost count. The Kiridara has an infinity pool, good strong free wifi, a spa where they give you 20% off voucher so you can indulge yourself with a treatment of your choice, a gym, great breakfast and a decent restaurant (although we only had lunch here). They have a free tuk tuk to town (about 10 mins away) and will pick you up when you have finished your meal. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend the place.

Room Tip: We were lucky and were upgraded to room 20, which was excellent, but the complex is built in such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments which will motivate the staff and help them to strive for perfection.

Once again thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Amazing place, after a short transfer from airport I arrived at the resort. The welcome was very warm and Francis and his team did the utmost possible to explain all and make sure you had all. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with a nice view. The whole hotel area is clean and loads of nice smelling frangipani trees. The pool area is great. Comfortable sunchairs and a big pool. The food is outstanding, they did a great buffet for Lao New Year with all local food to try accompanied by a local dance show. All the waiters are well trained and so friendly and helpful. Also the front office staff is great and open for all questions.
The hotel is a bit outside of Luang Prabang but they offer a free amd fun TukTuk service and also pick you up.
I can definitely recommend to stay there and will also return. Francis and his team are providing outstanding customer service and are always open for a chat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely note on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your comments which will motivate them to strive for perfection.

Once again thank you, and from today we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Address: 22/13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiridara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.