We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Merry Lao III Hotel

Villa Merry Lao III Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Merry Lao III Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Merry Lao III Hotel
Ban Aphay | Phousi Road, Luang Prabang 6000, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and had a great time.
The location is very very good. Everything important is within walking distance. A very nice walk that is, especially when turning right from the entrance and walking on the riverside.
The owner (?) and his daughtar are heartbreakingly nice and helpful. She can give some very good tips for trips etc.
Breakfast is nice although sometimes tied with waiting (either for a table or the dishes). No problem though, I can't imagine anyone to be in a hurry in Luang Prabang. Pancakes or omlettes are prepared fresh, thus the waiting.
Our room was basic but clean with A/C and TV. The mosquito net above my bed had big holes and was thus rather useless, the net above my friend's bed was in good shape though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
13
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

If you were thinking of booking this hotel because of the great reviews, think again. This simple hotel is on the tiered side.it is across from a club that plays very loud music until 11:30 pm. Our room was # 21. We were not provided with 2bottles of free water which is customary. There was no shampoo or body wash in the dispenser. A small bar of soap was all we got. The toilet splashed water when the room above us flushed! Best to move off quickly if you just happen to be sitting there at the time. Unfortunately, I woke up the second morning to bites all over my body. I informed the staff and they came to change the sheets. I told them I had used the blanket from the closet and I thought it should also be washed or cleaned. That suggestion was ignored. The blankets are still in the closet. Although the sheets had been changed and I did not use the blanket again, I woke up with many more bites. Four days later and I still have itchy welts.
Luang Prabang has many many nicely decorated, clean rooms for less. It's worth it to dig a little deeper for something much better.

Room Tip: Avoid room 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights and was sad to leave. The staff were very helpful. Great location, very clean and safe, great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Okay stay - although probably a bit on the pricey side. Interior is a bit old. Staff were very helpful and friendly - makes a world of difference! If I went to Luang Prabang again I might consider taking a look around at other accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife5
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

We turned up for a twin as per the booking. No twin ! The very friendly lady helped us to another hotel and made a contribution to the additional cost. Very reàsonabe.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed in the Villa Merry Lao III Hotel for 5 days. The staff was very nice and the breakfast yummy. Our room was big and always clean but sadly the rooms look a bit old. Maybe the owner should renovate them. The hotel is located near the center and all the main attractions can be reached easy by feet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

A small hostel located right in the centre of Luang Prabang. The room is well-designed and cozy. Above of all, the staff in the hostel was excellent, Ms. Thu manager was so friendly and helpful, she went out of her way to help customers with a big smile, always! She recommended us her brother's hostel in Hanoi which is brilliant - may de ville backpacker hostel. You should definately come here for your trip to Hanoi after Laos!!

To Thu and her colleagues, thank you so much for making us so special stay in your hostel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Merry Lao III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Merry Lao III Hotel

Address: Ban Aphay | Phousi Road, Luang Prabang 6000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Merry Lao III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Merry Lao III Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.