We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hostel! Excellent Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Merry Lao III Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Merry Lao III Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Merry Lao III Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Merry Lao III Hotel
Ban Aphay | Phousi Road, Luang Prabang 6000, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
hanoi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Hostel! Excellent Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

A small hostel located right in the centre of Luang Prabang. The room is well-designed and cozy. Above of all, the staff in the hostel was excellent, Ms. Thu manager was so friendly and helpful, she went out of her way to help customers with a big smile, always! She recommended us her brother's hostel in Hanoi which is brilliant - may de ville backpacker hostel. You should definately come here for your trip to Hanoi after Laos!!

To Thu and her colleagues, thank you so much for making us so special stay in your hostel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
3 thanh ha lane, hoan kiem, hanoi, vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

It is a really nice hostel in Lao, The staff here is really friendly and very accommodating. They also help us a lot by giving some useful advice. I had a wonderful trip there. Thank you very much !! Definitely recommend to any tourist from the world.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very nice and very clean hostel. The service is very good. A great place to stay. We’ve enjoyed it. Thank you.!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Hmm I have mixed views on this one. After reading the reviews of this hotel, my friend and I opted to fork out a little bit extra. We stayed for 4 nights. I requested a twin room, but we shared a double on the first night, which wasn't a problem as we were reassured that we could be moved the next day. The room was of average size, mosquito net around the bed, nice bathroom. The girl at reception was very friendly and helpful and helped arrange our excursion to the Kuang Si waterfall. All was well until we were moved into the requested twin room on the 2nd night. There was a large foot-sized hole in the bottom of the bath - when I informed the girl at reception, we were told to continue showering in it, despite the fact that it was obviously going to flood the bathroom and possibly the room below! I tried to shower in this and it was hopeless as the bottom of the bath was so flimsy. Reluctantly, the girl agreed to move us into the only other available room. It was a double but we agreed to share as we had no other option. However, the girl did not feel the need to tell us that the a/c was BROKEN and it was the most uncomfortable, hottest night of our entire one month holiday. Needless to say, we were not impressed the next morning, when we realised that she had known the entire time that it was already broken. We were extra unimpressed when there was no discount on the total bill to take into account that we had moved into 3 different rooms, 2 with significant problems. The cost of the place is way too expensive compared to some of the other great places we have stayed in Southeast Asia. It's a shame as our first impressions were promising. I'm sure there are better places to stay in Luang Prabang - don't bother to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Villa Merry Lao III Hotel is quite new hotel. Room is very nice and clean. I don't have enough time to stay here more than 3 nights because i have flight to Vietnam on time. It feel like my home, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Room rate is reasonable. from this hotel it is very easy for you to walk around. It is very peaceful place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Luang Prabang is my choosing for this summer. It is amazing place, we have very happy time stay in Villa Merry Lao III Hotel. It is very nice and cozy hotel. Room is new and very clean. Hotel location is at busy place but it is very convenient for walking around. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They take care you from small thing like where do you go for visiting, shopping or eating....What they do is perfect. Before i also stay in other hotel but comparator Villa Merry Lao III Hotel is number one and reasonable price.
Highly comment this hotel and we will come back next summer holiday!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed in the villa for 3 nights and found it to be exactly what i was hoping for. The service was second to none. The rooms were very clean and i especially loved how comfortable the beds, a nice welcome after spending a lot of time sleeping on buses. The staff were very helpful when i needed to book flights from loas to vietnam, they organised all the transfers to and from the airport with no problems what so ever. Organization is the key to running a great hotel and this hotel ticked every box, Well Done!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Merry Lao III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Merry Lao III Hotel

Address: Ban Aphay | Phousi Road, Luang Prabang 6000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 61 Specialty lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Merry Lao III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Merry Lao III Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.