We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Banneton Cafe

Le Banneton Cafe
46 Sakkhaline Road | (main street opposite Wat Sop), Luang Prabang, Laos
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Description: Excellant french bakery which also has a branck in Vientiane. Has over 30 types of bread & pastaries. Open from 6.30AM to about 6PM. Very good coffee. I am a regular there for my morning coffee & pastry. I can upload a photo.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed the pate on French Baquette. Went back the next day and ordered "take out" sandwiches for a picnic at the Khuang Si Falls. Convenient ATM located next door.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    90
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Didn't expect pastry this good ...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Ended up stopping by at least once a day for a croissant or a little tarte au citron. Delicious, and the sidewalk tables are perfect for monk watching.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went here every day for coffee and breakfast. The strongest coffee that we found, fresh french pastries and great fruit salad. Opens early so you can also watch the parade of the young monks as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab French food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We ate at Le Bannetone for our last lunch in Luang Prabang on New Year's day. We were so delighted with the whole experience. The service was attentive, the meals delicious and the pastries divine and light and easily as good as anything we have eaten in France itself. The baguette served with the meal was also exemplary - crusty, chewy, fresh. The portions were very generous so beware - you must bring an appetite. We ate there as a family of 5. When we left the owner dashed out with a bag of three extra pastries for our children to take home for dinner. This was so utterly unexpected and wonderfully generous we left Luang Prabang on a high note. If in Luang Prabang you must make an effort to visit for a meal or a pastry. Tres Bon!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our cantine while in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a great discovery, suggested by Serge, the manager of La Maison Souvannaphoum. Extensive menu (including good pastries and ice creams), fresh ingredients, great tastes, perfect execution, well priced, friendly service, it quickly became our hang out for lunch and sometimes dinner. A must to visit while in LP!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Banneton Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Le Banneton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Banneton Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.