We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Lasagna Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene

Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene
Sakarine Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Morris, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loved the Lasagna Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Went back 3 times and wasn't disappointed. try the eclair!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    139
    27
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the french country type food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I had lunch at "Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene".

It is a quaint restaurant on the main street in Luang Prabang just in front of the primary school. The atmosphere is a sort of "nouveau rustic". We enjoyed sitting inside by the open doors. The some of the restaurant tables are cute old wooden desks.

We ate the "Rilletes de pork" (excellent) and the "Potato gratin with ham and cheese" (Ok, good). Yes, it was a fatty meal but it was delicious. They were not refined dishes but tasted great.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, but high on cholesterol!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This place is very popular for breakfast and lunch, but as a person careful about what they eat, I found it hard to find a dish that was not heavy on oil, cream,eggs or cheese. Very French I suppose, but if you are prefer your meals light and healthy, perhaps this is not a place to frequent. Prices a cut above the average. Good coffee and lovely jam.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“excellent baguette and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Great place to while away an afternoon. I had a parisian baguette wth jambon and butter and it was excellent. The service is great and the ambience is lovely!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
“Could have been in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Went for dinner here on our last night in Luang Prabang and sat at a table on the pavement (or sidewalk if you prefer). Food was good and we could have been in Paris - except for the price and being bitten by a passing mosquito. My wife's 3 course set "Le Grand Menu" + coffee came to $14 - and I've had worse meals in Paris. Service was attentive, food well cooked - couldn't really fault it. Total bill $23.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cafe Ban Vat Sene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.