We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Praise the Amateurs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosella Fusion Restaurant

Rosella Fusion Restaurant
Kingkitsarat Road | Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
+856 20 77 775 753
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Australian, International, Fusion, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Rosella Fusion Restaurant is a friendly, family owned restaurant in the centre of Luang Prabang. Customers enjoy meals on our wooden terrace overlooking the beautiful Nam Khan river. The cuisine is a mixture of Lao and Western and is crafted by our Australian qualified Lao chef. It's a great place for lunch and dinner as well as a relaxing afternoon, watching local life on the riverbank, and a well priced evening cocktail.
Holte, Denmark
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Praise the Amateurs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Honestly, having read the brilliant reviews Rosella Fusion has received from fellow travelers, I was slightly concerned that this was another case of ethnic infatuation, faced with the open serving area and the blackened hole in the wall kitchen. Looks really can be deceptive and in this case they are.
After a bit of waiting our drinks were served. Beer Lao for adults and fabulous smoothies for the children. We then had glass noodle salad with minced pork, the very best green curry chicken I have ever had. Full stop. And I have had a few during the years we have lived in Asia. My wife had shrimps, the children pizzas, French fries and chocolate mousse.
No flaws whatsoever.
Service is attentive and what it may lack in professionalism it makes up for in downright enthusiasm and charm.
Normally when the check arrives you control it to see the extent of financial damage. In this case we paid gladly after having pointed out the two cappuccinos and the beer they missed on our bill.
A most energizing and different dinner. Praise the amateurs at Rossella and do not forget to book ahead - go for one of the three riverside tables! The view is also stunning. Enjoy!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    53
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It was ok, but not in the top 10 ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We went here for lunch when we were in Luang Prabang and were happy to find the place (couldn't find it on any map). It is located right along the river.

Unfortunately we were disappointed with the restaurant. We sat down and I attempted to order food. I pointed to the watermelon juice and our waiter appeared confused and brought me a watermelon shake (which was on a different page).

I then ordered bruschetta and he didn't understand what I was saying. I tried pointing to it on the menu and he didn't understand. I then pointed to the large picture of it in their menu and he still didn't get it. I then ordered a noodle dish and again pointed to it but he started trying to read the ingredients. I've travelled in several countries and have ordered off menus in several different languages. By no means do I expect service in my language in another country but one should understand their own menu.

After about 30 mins another waiter came to confirm our order (our original waiter had sat down with a large group and was having a drink). He said it would be another 15 mins. 45 mins later I got the bruschetta and it was an hour until the main course.

The food was very good but the service killed it for us (and that's holding the service to our traveling standards which is expecting the right dish 90% of the time).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

A good choice of Western and Lao food and fabulous quality for the price.

Well worth booking the night before or earlier in the day as they only have 6 - 8 tables.

Be prepared for them to run out of things as this is a small, locally run concern.

Probably our favourite restaurant in Luang Prabang.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“nice little gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Rosella Fusion is closed on Sundays! (We arrived on a Sunday and learnt that!)
It is hidden between a lot of gourmet expensive restaurants overlooking the Nam Khan river.
The outdoor seating only has about 6 tables for a max. of 20 people.
It happens that you have to wait, also for the food.
But then - super friendly Nina - apparently the manager - with a wonderful smile lets you forget about the few minutes that you had to wait longer.
Lovely and inexpensive food. Yummy smoothies.
This restaurant will hopefully be around for a while as it is surrounded by 4-and 5-star villas and restaurants.
The old house with the kitchen is quite run down, and one can imagine that one day an investor will buy up this place, tear it down and build another luxury establishment: Gentrification even in Luang Prabang.
So, go to eat there and support this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best meal in LP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This restaurant is in a beautiful peaceful setting overlooking the Nam Khan river. We had been wandering along the river earlier in the day and had picked this one from the row of riverside places, as its little terrace looked so inviting. The restaurant was very quiet, not many people about, so we sat for a little while before we were noticed, but that was no problem as it was still quite early. If you were in a hurry it might have been an issue, though.

The cold beer and the food were beautiful. I had chicken and mushrooms with vermicelli - delicious, but the really great meal was what my husband had - a package of steamed fish with dill that he pronounced the best meal we had had so far on our trip. It was fragrant as it released its steam when he unwrapped the bamboo leaf, and it was moist, tender and delicious. We also had a papaya salad to start, which was good too, but the standout meal was the fish.

As with most of the riverside restaurants, the meals are cooked across the road - a lovely relaxed way to eat without the bustle of a kitchen nearby Recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosella Fusion Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Rosella Fusion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosella Fusion Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.