We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of Luang Prabang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luang Prabang Paradise Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Luang Prabang Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Luang Prabang Paradise Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Khan River Side - 13 North Road - Ban Meuang Nga, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 227 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Hanoi/vietnam
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“best of Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is probably the best hotel in town.

Big PLUS for the pool, but other people can also joint using the pool hence can be noisy.
Garden is nice.
Area of the hotel is big
Service is a big Plus, we did not get the Wifi for 3 days, after talking to the manager we get a new router within the day. Do not speak to the staff, it will not be much help, talk to the manager.
Room we ot is HUGE, 105 m2 !! I did messure it and it was 8 m x 13 m !!!

Our kids love just to stay at home since it is very relaxing we are happy evrytime we come back to our house.


Need improvement:
- shuttle bus schedule should be change from 1600 to 1700
- internet speed
- Family room lacks of mosquito net at the entrance
- No back up power
- No LCD TV
- drink from minibar should be signed by guest since maid can misjudge the use of guest ( can or bottle)
- Computer at reception needs new keyboard since there is no internet in room I had to work at the reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Hotel Cons:
Located out of town so you need transport to get around. The hotel provides a shuttle service only 4 times a day and not at the best times at 8.00am, 12.00, 16.00 finishing at 20.00. If you need to go into town any other time they charge 30,000kip (twice the price of local taxi, we did feel as though the hotel were trying to make money off guests).
Breakfast is a meagre affair and after a couple of days gets boring (see pictures). The room was a nice size although it had only 3 clothes hooks, and no other place for clothes so longer stays may be an issue.
In room Wi-Fi was adequate; we have had better and worse in Asia. In room TV was unwatchable with extremely bad picture (management said there was a problem with reception, not fixed in the week we were there). We also had a broken toilet seat which we reported on arrival and that was not fixed in the week we were there.
There is little privacy here. The rooms look onto one another which is ok, but the hotel staff are constantly outside the rooms, and on occasions very early in the morning making too much noise.
Pros:
Very friendly reception staff, great pool to cool off, comfy beds, big bathrooms, hot shower, (wet floor). Would we stay again? The market in Asian for this level of hotel is very competitive. We have had better all-round value in other places we have stayed for similar price. Having said that if the hotel transport was sorted out, more frequency and inclusive, better breakfast options and less staff prowling around we would consider coming back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We, a Norwegian family of 5, stayed at Luang Prabang Paradise Resort and it was definitely Paradise. We fell in love with the town Luang Prabang and definitely hope to visit it again one day. And no doubt we want to stay at your resort again. Everything was great - the room (perhaps a bit too many mosquitoes in the bathroom), very clean, lovely pool, beautiful well maintained garden and most of all wonderful helpful people who made our stay even more fabulous. Even though not all of them could speak English fluently, this had its charms too. It was definitely a place we want to visit again. Regards to each one of you - we loved your place and keep it as a paradise!!!

Room Tip: I suppose any room is perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David V, Directeur général at Luang Prabang Paradise Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Hi Petter,

All the staff and I are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for these kind words. The resort will even more look like a paradise when you come back.

See you soon

David VIRON, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

A liitle bit out of town, this place is one of the few 'lush garden with pool'' place in Luang Prabang.
The staf is speaking english very well and are extremely friendly en helpfull.
Beautiful bungalowtype rooms, very clean and a great service at the poolside.
Bycicles are free (but there aren't many of them)
Next time there again (if it's not full !!). Value for money.
Alexander

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David V, Directeur général at Luang Prabang Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Hi Alexander,

Thank you for these kind words towards the team.
We are preparing some english classes for the whole staff and the rooms are being refurbished for a better comfort too.
We expect some more bicycles within the next weeks to provide a wider range of choices to discover the surroundings.
Therefore, we look forward to having you back in the next months.

Regards

David VIRON, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Just outside town, this newly opened resort has everything and more. Beautiful gardens, great pool to relax by, very accommodating staff, even though they run a 4 times a day free shuttle into town will take you into town whenever you need in a/c van for the price of local tuk-tuk. Nothing was too much trouble, mozzies were a bit of a problem 1st night, but they moved us into mozzie-free room next morning. Recommend room 3. Great pillows and lovely soft sheets.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David V, Directeur général at Luang Prabang Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your review and kind words.
Indeed mosquitoes are quite numerous during the rainy season in northern Laos. Therefore, we have been spraying some mosquito repellent twice a day for a month and the mosquito net might guarantee you some more sweet dreams.

The team is glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopes to see you again home.

Warmest regards,

David VIRON, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

We stayed there 8 nights.

What we liked:
The swimming pool, bungalows, comfy bed, restaurant menu is good, free shuttle to town centre

What we didn't like:
Breakfast, very little choice and not great quality (only eggs and bread, artificial juice). Mosquitoes everywhere (up to 60 mosquitoes in our bathroom), should really invest in mosquito nets and get rid of the ponds next to the bungalows). English was very limited and resulted in many mistakes in our orders, it is not really a complaint but they could improve this.The fact that swimming pool is open to public: one day we had up to 30 locals swimming in their everyday clothes and eating in the swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David V, Directeur général at Luang Prabang Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for mentioning our pros and former weak points.

Indeed, we are doing our best to get rid of the mosquitoes which can be annoying during the monsoon in South East Asia by providing mosquito nets in the rooms, spraying some repellent daily and revisiting the trees surroundings the bungalows.

Apart from this, the staff will be trained especially in english classes in order not to make any mistakes for any request such as a food order which would happen in our new restaurant relocated next to the swimming pool with a richer menu for breakfast (home-made jams & juices, various local teas & coffees, crêpes to come).

The swimming pool policy is changing little by little in order to keep this place pleasant for our guests.

Xok Dee,

David VIRON, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

A fairly new resort of a dozen or so bungalows occupying some very pleasant grounds with a lovely clean pool. Individual bungalows furnished to a high standard, spacious and spotlessly clean. Resort offers a free return shuttle into town several times a day but failed to inform us of this on checking in, found out about this on leaving. Close to the airport but the resort charge for shuttle to airport fairly expensive. If using the resort restaurant which is OK make sure you get any change due on your bill as I suspect the young man who served us has a little scam whereby he declares he has no change and will bring it to your room, however, you will have to search him out the next day, unless you have to leave early which is his hope I think.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David V, Directeur général at Luang Prabang Paradise Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for sharing your point of view concerning the resort and especially the former restaurant. Indeed, we are building a new restaurant next to the swimming pool and training the staff to improve the quality of service.
The airport transfer fare depends on the airport entrance fee which varies according to the type of vehicle.
We hope you could notice some more good changes next time you come back to Luang Prabang.

Sincerely yours,

David VIRON, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luang Prabang Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang Paradise Resort

Address: Khan River Side - 13 North Road - Ban Meuang Nga, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luang Prabang Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Luang Prabang Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luang Prabang Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.