We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good profesional guides and good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Travel - Day Tour

Jewel Travel - Day Tour
Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour Agency providing full services including Adventure and Cultural Tours in Laos. With English speaking Guides new Mini Vans and years of experience, we are the best choice in Luangprabang to cover all your needs.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good profesional guides and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

We booked with Jewel Travel Laos a one day tour that we customised with half day elephant riding (and bathing) and half day kayacking. We asked to leave early to avoid heat and to have enough time for both activity
We specified before hand that we wanted a good guide, proficient in English and enjoying the activities with us, and sharing his knowledge.

We were really satisfied of the experience. Two other persons joins the group so we had 2 guides for 4 people. Both guides were really enthusiastic and eager to share about their culture, explaining spontaneaoulsy a lot of facts about their city and country. On top of that, they were quite funny !

As far as the activities, the elephant ride was the traditional one hour ride/bathing/explanations. The elephants look well treated and the environment around the camp was great. There were no dead time between activities and all was well organised not loosing one min.
Before going kayacking we had an excelent, fresh and abundant lunch
The kayacking, despite being the dry season, had some good rapids. Safety talks was a bit fast and no clear explanations was given on how to paddle. So not recommended for real beginners. With my husband we were not beginners but still had issues controling the double seat kayack and fell intro the water. Single kayack is way easir ! The guide was really good in helping us and then offer his single kayack to my husband and I paddled with him

So I recommand this agency but talk to the boss and make sure what your expectations are an enjoy a bit of adventure

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phaivanh p, Owner at Jewel Travel - Day Tour, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments and I am very happy that you enjoyed your tour and experience with Jewel Travel.
We have a lot of "Set Tour Packages" for people to choose from but we are always happy to change things to suit the individual circumstances of the customer. This is something that we feel is very important as everyone has his own idea of what they want to see or do and if we can incorporate those ideas into our tour to improve your experience, then we will always make every effort to do so.
Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to see you in Luangprabang again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    0
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Jewel tours doesn't care about you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

On the firsts days of April, my friends and I booked a 2 days tour. First day trekking and visiting mountain tribes with home stay, second day kayaking and visit to elefant camp.
Just 2 hours after start the trekking, we were surprised and surrounded by fire. The local farmers cut the trees and set the fields on fire to plant rice and corn. As we were breathing smoke and we couldn't continue the trekking due to the fire we asked our tour guide to come back. He didn't explain anything else and we came back.
When we returned to jewel's office we asked for our money back, as the company was aware that such thing could happen, they only didn't know the exact day....
They didn't give us our money back, their proposal was to charge the complete first day, even if we didn't go to any tribe town, or didn't do any activity.
After over 2 hours of discussions the company boss (this same guy that responds very kindly to every negative comment) started to insult and to threat us saying that if we went to the tourist police office we didn't get any money back. That he was Lao and he didn't care about anything we could say or do.
Think very carefully if you want to book anything with jewel, as they won't take any responsibility on any case.
When there're so many negative comments you can see the company's way of do the things.
AS THE BOSS SAIS "I don't care, I'm Lao, I don't care"

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phaivanh p, Owner at Jewel Travel - Day Tour, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Unfortunately this is one of those cases that can happen once in a while and is unavoidable, particularly when trying to ensure the customer gets an authentic experience. In this case it was the burning season, an activity that has been going on for centuries and the smoke from this annual burning of the fields was not tolerable.
Unfortunately there is no way of knowing when this is going to happen and it will be another couple of decades at least before the local villagers send us an e mail to let us know when they are about to burn.
Of course this was not the experience we wanted our customers to have and we were willing to refund a large portion of the money paid, deducting only the cost of transport etc that had already been spent. On top of that we also offered to give them a Free day of Kayaking the following day as that had been an activity included on the tour they had booked. However this offer was not accepted and we were threatened with being reported to the Tourist Police if the demand for a full refund was not met.
I am sorry but there has to be some give and take on BOTH sides. The group were entitled to have a partial refund (and we offered a substantial one) but as the situation was not of our making, we were also entitled to cover costs already expended. Our offer of a partial refund and a FREE tour the following day was more than fair ... the customers response to that was not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mahout day - nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

The trip met met the description in the office quite good. First we had some doubts that the elephants might not be treated well because other agencies take much higher amounts but that was not the case. The elephants were treated good as far as we can judge this.

We spend clearly more than an hour riding the elephants and also a fair amount of time in the water bathing them. Our guide was helpful friendly and taught us some facts about those animals. His English was quite good and he took a lot of good photos and videos with our camera. Food was basic but good.

What could be better:
- Aircon in the minivan would be nice.
- The stop at a "Whiskey"-shop would better be skipped.

We had a lot of fun and can recommend this tour.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Super Authentic Trekking Experience -2DN1 Trekking/Homestay/Kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

My girlfriend and I took the 2 day and 1 night Village Trek, which included a night homestay in the village and a few hours kayaking back the next day

Our guide, Guem(hope that's spelled right) was very informative, spoke excellent English, was able to really communicate about the culture we were trying to immerse ourselves in and best of all a very friendly and approachable man

The tour was extremely authentic, unlike the trekking tours in Thailand. The village was very remote and we were able to interact with the villagers, playing football, chatting to kids and so on.

Please be aware, this tour is not for the faint of heart. The trekking itself is fairly challenging. The accommodation is local style, that's a bamboo house and a comfortable sleeping mat and of course squat toilets and a cold shared tap as a shower. Don't expect luxury, but if you do then this isn't the tour for you, it's a chance to experience real Laos life, briefly.

Equipment was all great and we really enjoyed the warm atmosphere from all the staff. Thanks! Matt and Ai

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phaivanh p, Owner at Jewel Travel - Day Tour, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your trekking experience with Jewel Travel.
You are absolutely right about it not being for the faint hearted. Unfortunately we get some visitors who can not handle the basic living conditions and then complain but we do try very hard to ensure your experience is authentic and if you really want to see Life in Laos ... AS IT IS ... then our trekking tours are a must.
Thank you again for your kind words and we are happy that you enjoyed your holiday experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DONT rent bikes from jewel travel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We hired bikes to cycle to kuang si waterfall (30km). Tested them on the flat and worked fine but as soon as we got to the hills one bike got stuck in 3rd gear! Almost impossible to do the big hills stuck in a high gear and ended up having to get a tuk tuk back. The company didnt care at all that the bike was broken, offered no kind of compensation and I doubt they fixed the bike (it was put straight back out on the street).

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phaivanh p, Owner at Jewel Travel - Day Tour, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear Sir, thank you for taking the time to comment on our service. Unfortunately yours was not a good experience but your review does help us to make sure we can rectify any problems and hopefully improve our service.
In this case, you did not book a cycling tour with us but instead, chose to just rent bicycles and do the trip into the mountains independently. That is a great spirit to have but like all adventures, there can be problems (otherwise it would not be an adventure).
Had you been with one of our guides the problem would have been solved immediately but as you were on your own, we did not know of the problem until your return. All our bicycles are cleaned and inspected daily and as you point out, yours were working correctly when you tested them. However, all mechanical transport is subject to breakdown (even cars and Mini Buses) and the bad road conditions plus very steep hills make that event even more likely.
Once again, we are sorry that your experience was not as you would have wanted but hope that you can understand the problems and give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel Travel - Day Tour also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Jewel Travel - Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Travel - Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.