We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, we did all the tours with Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel Travel - Day Tour

Jewel Travel - Day Tour
Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 47 Activities in Luang Prabang
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great experience, we did all the tours with Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I found Jewel agency by previous reviews in Trip Adviser and the moment we landed in LP, we went to search for them. We were happy we got to them as they accommodated all our travel needs for 3 days in a row. We came as a group of 8 people and they showed us around. We loved all tour guides - very fun, informative, easy going. We did boat tour to caves with many stops on a way, then village tour next day together with waterfalls. Then we did biking tour across Mekong which was a highlight for us, we got to pass through villages, stopped for a wedding on a way and saw gorgeous landscapes. We also learned tons of stuff from our guides. The owner also showed me great steam bath place behind the agency which I was visiting every day to relax after activity packing day - very grateful :). Very pleasant experience - will definitively do more tours on our next visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    0
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We booked Jewel Travel for one whole day while in Luang Prabang. Since it was just me and my wife, we were allowed to spend as much time as we wanted in each attraction.

Early morning we went to the caves, then to the two waterfalls. We had a driver, a good guide and all the water we could drink inside a confortable and clean car.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible homestay experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked a 3 days kayak from Nong Kiaw to Luang Prabang at Jewel Travel Laos in Nong Kiaw.
We were very disapointed with what we got :
- Homestay was terrible. We stopped in a village close to a dam which was under construction. The constructions works were days and nights so it was terribly noisy. We did not manage to sleep. The home was very dirty with garbage all over the garden, mice running close to our bed, mice defecation in our bed sheets, dirty bed sheets. Food hygien at the homestay was not good as we had diarrhea.
Jewel travel did not organise the homestay in advance as when we arrived in the village, the house which was supposed to host us was already full with other guest. So our guide started looking for a house while it was getting dark and us very cold
-One of the kayak had a hole so water was going inside

Yet the guide was amazing, very friendly, good in kayaking and a nice company.

In conclusion, the service is definitely not worth 95$ per person for 4 people

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nong Khiaw 3 day hill tribe trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went on this trek in Nong Khiaw with Jewel Travel and had the most amazing experience. The trek was varied and an adventurous few days, but one not to be missed, it is probably my favourite thing to have done during my time in Laos. The service was brilliant, the treks were explained in the Nong Khiaw tour office (ask for 'Jackie Chan', he was so helpful and so knowledgeable) and also advertised if you wanted more people to join. (We also met a couple on the trek who had arranged it in Luang Prabang so this is possible too.) Be prepared to get a bit wet and muddy, but to have the time of your life!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice climbing, bad cycle trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Jewel travel took uw rock climbing for a day with a perfect guide. We were so happy about it, that we entrusted them with another trip: they would take us two-third on the way from LP to vang vieng, with breakfast on a beautiful panorama spot. They had mountain bikes in the van, so that we could cycle the last 70 Kms to VV, where they would wait for us to collect the bikes. An expensive trip: 200 Usd, but we thought it was worth it.
- the driver spoke zero English and his companion just a wee bit
- the breakfast was in a dismal restaurant in a muddy street in a sad village.
- one of the bikes had worn out brakes. Absolutely unsafe during the long and steep descends. Since they didn't bring any spare ones, they had to drive us all the way to VV. They were prepared to refund Usd 40, so we spent USD 160 on a bus trip that by public minivan would have cost us USD 25. If only they had checked the brakes before loading the bikes in LP....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel Travel - Day Tour also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Jewel Travel - Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel Travel - Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.