We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Luang Say Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Luang Say Residence to your Saves list
The Luang Say Residence
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE CHAMPAGNE !
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Total Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place has earned it's #2 spot by providing excellent service and a true luxury hotel experience. Their staff speak excellent English and the wait staff in their restaurant are very well trained. You can tell that some westerner has gone to great pains to teach them western hospitality skills and habits.

I can't add more that what has already been written so I will just say this, if you want a perfect and peaceful place to stay with the probably the best service you're going find Luang Prabang this is the place.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    35
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
169
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel because of its very relaxing atmosphere and the well appointed rooms. The breakfasts were fantastic and beautifully served. The staff was exceptionally friendly and eager to help in every way. We enjoyed the pool and gardens very much.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Luang Say residence was simply wonderful! Peaceful and Quiet except for the cocks crowing in the morning. It is what I might call village-living at its best! The people were so helpful and willing to go out of their way to make our stay pleasant. For the first time outside of the UK, I enjoyed poached eggs! Their breakfast was plentiful; always replenished warm croissants, baguettes and the fruits were so sweet and fresh! We had only breakfasts there and so cannot comment on their other meals. Nevertheless, if the breakfast is anything to go by, it must be just as good! We asked for the upper floor room as recommended by another traveller on tripadvisor and I think that's wise as it gives one more privacy. The rooms were large and cosy. I initially thought the place was old but realised that it was actually quite new but the architecture is such that it gives an air of old French colonial building. Their shuttle service to town was very useful especially in the evenings and they were so obliging that if there were no others, we were dropped off at the doorstep of wherever we were going (for instance: lélephant restaurant). Overall, I highly recommend the place and if we ever return to Luang Prabang we will stay there again! Kudos to all the staff and since I cannot single out any staff as being rude or unhelpful I can only say "You are all awesome"!!!

Room Tip: Upper floor pioneer suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is simply amazing, with its colonial architecture and the quality of the service.
The staff is very helpful, especially at the front desk where they give precious advice to plan your stay.
I especially enjoyed the fine dining restaurant where they offer tasty lao food as well as western. dishes.
I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very beautiful and charming hotel with several buildings in a beautiful garden. The suites are very nice, have a good size and the bed was excellent (not too soft). The staff is very helpful although most of them speak hardly any English. The pool area is also very nice with a good pool service.
Breakfast was excellent.
The restaurant did not meet our expectation in the evening. On one hand the selection was not so wide (especially for a vegetarian) and on the other hand the staff did not understand anything because of the language. The food itself was okay, but overprized.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is beautiful in almost every way. Idyllic surroundings, lovely rooms, attentive service. But eat here at your peril. Dinner is not freshly cooked. Unfortunately feeding this back to the manager got us nowhere. He said he ate there everyday and he liked it!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modesto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights and were so delighted to stay here. The hotel is beautiful. The intimate ambiance and intimate feeling. The restaurant is fantastic, No detail is overlooked. The staff are so helpful and pleasant. There is a very nice pool that is a peaceful refuge. I would stay hee again and again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Luang Say Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.