We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Care for Guests and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Luang Say Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Luang Say Residence to your Saves list
The Luang Say Residence
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE CHAMPAGNE
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Care for Guests and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What I noticed was that the management care about both the guests and the staff.
You don't see that everywhere.
They want both the guests to enjoy their time there and for the staff to feel valued in their roles.
Great place - I will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    42
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
62
183
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Everything was perfect. We loved the architecture of the colonial style houses in a beautiful garden, enjoyed the very nice and relaxing swimming pool, spent some time at the library looking at books about the history and geography of the area ; there is also a nice bar serving afternoon tea and evening drinks. The rooms are beautifully furnished, very comfortable and pleasant to live in.the restaurant is excellent with local and international food; breakfast is delicious. The service is excellent, the people smiling, efficient and very nice and helpful.
We stayed for 4 days and really enjoyed every minute! We really hope we will have the opportunity to spend another holiday in this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Been here with the family in October. Amazed by the beautiful style residence. We had the family suite for a full week. Very nice suite and super service! When we came back in the evening the rooms were prepared for the night, the window blinds closed, and a small present on a pillow, which changed from some nice candy to a pottery elephant. All the products they serve are fresh, even the yoghurt is homemade! Very nice breakfast and helpful and friendly staff. If you would like to have a nice relaxing week that gives you a luxurious feeling, than here is the right place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a new hotel but has been built in a old colonial style and the attention for detail is shown throughout the hotel. There is one main building that has a bar/restaurant/reception and a few rooms and then the grounds has a series of smaller buildings that houses 8 rooms in each. The rooms are gorgeous - they are spacious, big bathrooms, a seating area and a balacony. They have mosiquito nets, replellent and a plug in for on a night. The breakfasts were huge inlcuding fresh fruit, followed by a basket of bread and pastries and then followed by your own choice of food (3 choices - indulgent and 2 healthy options). I would recommend the eggs benedict -full of calories but delicious!

The staff were so friendly and really tried to speak english at every opportunity, however this was a reflection of everyone in Luang Prabang. The bar staff made a fantastic cocktail (which was two for one until 8pm - i think). We had a turn down service on an evening and the staff left little gifts on the bendside table which was so sweet.

The hotel grounds were flourished with big plants and trees, including an orchid garden. The swimming pool was really nice and great for a relax in the afternoon sun.

The hotel was around 30 mins walk from the main street in Luang Prabang but there was a free mini bus service available most of the time during the day and specific times on an evening. Ask the hotel how much a tuktuk should cost to the hotel from town as they do try to over charge as we found out on the first night (should be 20,000 kip).

I would recommend that you get the hotel to book a taxi when going back to the airport as their service appeared to be expensive for the distance but that is the only negative comment i would say about this wonderful hotel.

Overall, the grounds and rooms are lovely and the staff treat you like royalty. I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin waters
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend several days at Luang Say Residence in September. This is a wonderful boutique hotel and the staff have a happy knack of making you feel very special. We cannot fault the Luang Say, its staff and facilities - from the spacious rooms, to the delightful bar for evening drinks, to the wonderful restaurant with its glorious food, to the large pool that we so enjoyed, this is a special hotel in a special part of the world. The colonial architecture of the hotel, so familiar around Luang Prabang, just adds to the overall charm of the experience. My birthday occurred while we were at the hotel. That evening, to my great delight, I answered the door to our room to be greeted by many staff members, including the General Manager, all singing me Happy Birthday and presenting me with a huge cake and candles! That night we enjoyed the special tasting menu in the restaurant - it was delightful! On our last morning I wanted to make a quick trip into town to visit a book shop. The hotel kindly arranged a car and driver who not only took me to the shop but waited while I completed my purchases and then visited the post office. These are just two examples of of the service that makes Luang Say residence a special place to stay. We were so enthralled with Laos that we are planning another trip next year - and we will definitely be booking a few more days at the Luang Say Residence.
paul 'n trish

Room Tip: The Explorator Rooms are excellent - spacious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

On our trip to Luang Prabang 4- 7 Oct, we came here for 2 dinners at the wonderful restaurant, La Belle Epoque. They have a wide range on their menu and what we found most interesting was their wild duck which is really caught from the surrounding mountains. Chef Pittaya could really make your meal a most memorable one in Luang Prabang. This restaurant is a real treasure and although not famous like L'Elephant, they are certainly a class of their own. They also have a beautiful colonial bar with a fireplace for winter. The whole property is very well landscaped. We inspected their guest rooms as we were staying in another property and found the rooms to be huge, colonial style and yet modern. Eduord, the Restaurant Manager is very experienced and will know how to look after and organise your meal. I recommend visitors to Luang Prabang that this a must restaurant to dine in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful oasis to base yourself in in Luang Prabang. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed with an exceptionally comfortable king sized bed and a massive bathroom. Service is so professional you have to pinch yourself to remember where you are. And the breakfast, not a buffet I'm pleased to say, was memorable. Perfect eggs benedict cooked to order. We stayed three nights, enjoyed two happy hours in the bar and were very sad to leave. It is fairly expensive I admit, especially in Laos, but worth every cent. Spoil yourself!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Luang Say Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.