We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but very classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Luang Say Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Luang Say Residence to your Saves list
The Luang Say Residence
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE CHAMPAGNE
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey but very classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This is one of the most luxurious hotels I've stayed it - the bedroom suites and the communal rooms are all spacious and superbly furnished. The pool area is lovely too - all done in dark grey tiles - unusual and stricking.
It's all brand new and so are the staff so if they do make the odd mistake then that's just because they're still bedding in as a team. They try hard and are all charming.
One minor quibble - we booked them to collect us from the airport, they were 20 minutes late picking us up and then tried to charge us $10 for a 8 minute journey. Hopefully the Frech management will provide and gratuitous pick up and drop off airport service in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    42
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
62
183
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Luang prabang was an amazing place to visit, however it was extremely hot. When we arrived at our hotel we were taken in by the comfort and spaciousness of the rooms, the pool and the ambience of the main foyer, bar and library. The perfect setting for Livingstone.
We proceeded to the main city with its French/Asian ambience and thought we had made a mistake staying so far out of town. As the day heated so did the buildings and the roads, even the cafes with the fans and the river side eateries. The night market was the longest we had ever seen, bright, alive and hot. Returning to the hotel for a night swim was wonderful, cool and extremely comfortable.
The staff at Luang Say were were extremely kind and helpful, showing the best of Laos hospitality. We stayed 4 nights and could easily have stayed much longer.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for comfort, space and value. Although it is quite new, in time the gardens will grow and this hotel will improve with age.
There is a shuttle bus in the evenings, a few more during the day would be good, however the tuk tuks are readily available and extremely economical.

Room Tip: Suites are in the hotel section whereas the pioneer are separate. Unless you particularly want a bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel is very beautiful, French colonial style. It is located a little bit outside of the main small city of Luang Prabang. Since we were there for our honeymoon, the hotel upgraded our room to a suite in the main building. Throughout the property there are villas scattered around. The suite was very large, clean, and new in appearance. We had a large bathroom with shower and a large tub. We had two balconies.
Everything was amazing about the suite and the staff. But then at 2 o clock in the afternoon from our room wew could hear loud music blaring, with a lot of bass. After walking around the hotel, we discovered an open-air restaurant/club across the street blaring this music. We asked the hotel to call the restaurant about the music. They called twice to turn down the music, but of course there was no change.
The music lasted until about 11 at night.
As a New Yorker, I was extremely disappointed that I travelled across the world to a supposedly less travelled, very chill country on my honeymoon only to stay at one of the nicer hotels in Luang Prabang with loud music blaring across the street.
While this may not be the hotel's fault, it absolutely ruined my stay. And I wish I had been warned about the music, so that I could have picked a different hotel.

Room Tip: if you do not want to hear loud bass music, try to stay in a villa way in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed here 2 nights, it was a good hotel in Luang Prabang. Their staffs were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast were not bad but I didn't like Laotian food so much, I had a special menu :). Everything seemed to be good, the manager spoke English very well. That was a good hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed 4 nights here. Really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly and attentive, sometimes overly so, especially in the restaurant, probably as we were practically the only guests there. Enjoyed chatting to some of the staff who spoke good English, you could find out a lot about Laos and generally feel at ease when talking with them. Friendly French manage. Nice bar area, the atmosphere would be good with a few more people. Need to advertise the happy hour more obviously. The bungalows are huge and comfortable although the downstairs ones are overlooked from the pathways as there are no net curtains. Beautiful gardens surrounds and a fantastic pool. Free bike hire and shuttle to town. Great stay especially if you get a good deal in the low season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I live in South East Asia. I went to Luang Prabang with my two grown kids. I have learned to really appreciate quality (from a western view) after being in SE Asia. Here you will not have a problem if that is what you are looking for. It is not the cheapest, but if you want a really nice, quality hotel, this is the place. When we were there it was slow time, so it was almost like a private hotel. The staff is great, helpful, but not pushy. The food (when we ate there) was not cheap, but 5 star like. Location is close to old town, with a tuk tuk. Pool is refreshing after a long day. I would stay here again, and that is the true test. BTW. beds are fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Colonial style located just few minute a way from Old Town. The resort have a great swimming pool... I stayed in a suite which face to the pool... loved it...

The room are big with sofa and big LCD TV... I traveled to few other place in Lao but most of them I can't access internet or very very slow, but this hotel have the fastest internet....

Great service at the restaurant and what i like the most, this hotel offer a very healthy breakfast.... Recommended if you visit Luang Prabang....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Luang Say Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Residence

Address: 4 - 5 Ban Phonepheng | Phou Vao Road, Luang Prabang 856, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Luang Say Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaintly located in a lush landscaped garden, this luxurious property provides 5 colonial style buildings that include this fully decorated boutique resort. Other than leisure travelers, this property is also a perfect base for guests on transit since it’s only a short drive away from the airport and downtown. All the 24 suites are fully equipped with a flat screen television, personal mini bar, in-room safe and WiFi internet access. Featuring numerous onsite facilities such as a large swimming pool, dining room, library, foreign exchange service and laundry service. For explorations, guests can walk down the tree lined streets where you will find a wide range of restaurants, cafes, vibrant handicraft markets and the famous, Mekong River. The city also boasts its 32 protected temples and the famous attraction, Haw Kham Royal Palace Museum – which you should not miss. The Luang Say Residence awaits your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Luang Say Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Luang Say Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Luang Say Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.