We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lao Dining At its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roots & Leaves

Roots & Leaves
Setthathilah Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 140 restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=19.885925,102.136589+(Roots+and+Leaves+Restaurant)&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=19.927952,55.546875&ie=UTF8&ll=19.885921,102.136588&spn=0.002875,0.006781&z=17
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lao Dining At its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Peaceful location in the heart of Luang Prabang, yummy Lao food, good service.
Dance and music performance are not overwhelming like often in Asia.
Perfect place to recover after a busy day visiting Luang Prabang or catching up with friends near the small lake under the coconut trees.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    16
    12
    2
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Uk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Such good value for fantastic food and wonderful surroundings. Lao music and dance Monday to Saturday on a stage in the middle of lily pond surrounded by coconut trees. You don't need to have the advertised 25$ meal and floor show - just walk in and you eat from the menu and see the show anyway.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy! Fresh food and lovely ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Delicious food and lovely place to go in the evening. The candles and lights make the place very attractive! There is an evening show of traditional lao music and dance as well...very nice background show. I loved the papaya salad with fresh apples, steamed veggeis with spicy herb/dip on the side, and eggplant wrapped in greens (little bite size morsels with the most fragrantly herb eggplant dip inside). All very light and crisp! Reasonably priced as I got all of the above plus hot tea and tip for under 60,000 kip. Staff was very attentive.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Surprisingly pleasant and authentic dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011 via mobile

We went cuz close our hotel. Cuz have local dance we thought touristy. Surprisingly, best local food we had in LP - spicy papaya salad, bamboo shoot w/ pork (tonkatsu), vegetarian rolls (lots of herbs n leaves). Music n dance very very pleasant in middle of a beautiful lily pond. Great coconut trees. Did not have chance to try big coffee selection.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

While on week long trip to Laos I had the pleasure to experience Roots & Leaves. Food was great, service and management very friendly. I also used the bar and hard to believe but they have on the menu the widest variety of coffees I have ever seen, maybe more than 30 different beans! In addition what stands-out here is the show itself as every night at dinner time a daily local cultural show is taking place with stunning performances. Luang Prabang is a nice city itself and in my opinion Roots & Leaves is a must see while here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots & Leaves also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Roots & Leaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots & Leaves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.