We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Show!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roots & Leaves

Roots & Leaves
Setthathilah Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=19.885925,102.136589+(Roots+and+Leaves+Restaurant)&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=19.927952,55.546875&ie=UTF8&ll=19.885921,102.136588&spn=0.002875,0.006781&z=17
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Show!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Very relaxing evening sitting by the lily pond and having the opportunity to experience traditional Lao music and dance. The show was magical.
The food was fine and very reasonably priced.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    2
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We loved the typical dance and the music.

The view is amazing and the place in General is very romantic.

It's important to book in advantage. If you can choose, table 3 is excellent.

The only thing is that the waitress don't speak a good English

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food does not live up to beautiful setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The beautiful setting of this restaurant and the nightly Lao dancers drew us in for dinner. Although the service is good and they seem to be trying very hard, the food was not great and the cocktails even weaker. The chicken lemongrass salad was good but the papaya salad was soggy and extremely fishy and the stir fry fish pieces were all full of bones. My boyfriend and I both ordered Long Island ice teas and they tasted like Coke with no alcohol whatsoever. The menu prices are reasonable and the entertainment was good but neither makes up for the disappointing food.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The restaurant has a folkloric show with Lao songs and performances.

It's a good idea to book on advance (we did the same day we went). Booking before gives you the opportunity to choose the table. Table 3 is one of the best option to see the lake and the show.

The food was ok but a little pricy. We ordered one of the sets, like a sampler with Lao typical food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Dinner under the stars at an excellent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I love the atmosphere of this restaurant. We have eaten there twice in the evening, one of which was new year's eve and, being open air, we were able to watch the beautiful light show from the floating lights across the sky in LPB. Both nights we were treated to the traditional music and dance show. The food was tasty, though be careful if you order the Mekong fish dishes which has lots of sharp bones, cut in a way that increases their danger! That said, the food was delicious. I found the staff to be very happy and friendly. The wine list could be improved, I didn't see any wine options but there are plenty of beers and cocktails on offer. I get the sense of a newish restaurant trying very hard and doing pretty well. And the value for money was amazing. We ordered al-carte and our shared meal was about $12 with beer! I felt they should have charged more. Recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots & Leaves also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Roots & Leaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots & Leaves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.