We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cuisine, nice garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Garden

Coconut Garden
Sisavangvong Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good cuisine, nice garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very comfortable place for dinner, when the outdoor seating make you appreciate the freshness of night.
Good cuisine, mostly with authentic lao dishes.
Good service, reasonably priced.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    174
    46
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A huge disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely terrible service, we were overcharged for an entire meal we didn't eat. After much polite and amicable explaining on our part, the staff and manager refused to admit they had made a mistake and so we ended having to pay the extra.

This put such a downer on the evening and our whole stay in Luang, a total disaster, please avoid at all costs! There are so many nice restaurants in the city, don't risk this nightmare of a place.

Good luck in finding a less ridiculous establishment!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We were taken to Coconut Garden by our tour guide. The restaurant was busy with nice atmosphere. Service a little slow but not sure if that might have been because we were a larger party. The food was of a very good standard, good value including the wine. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool lights at night...and soft icecream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We were there in August 2012, the lights were what drew us in the the place. We sat on the street level, it had a relaxed and professional atmosphere. Prices were reasonable and you can't beat the location on your way to the night market.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Nice, but expensive lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We decided to stop in here for a quick lunch before the Palace Museum was opening at 1:30pm.
The atmosphere was great. Lots of different places to sit, all with a very enchanting experience. The drinks were quite expensive (beer was 18000 kip). We opted for fruit shakes (15000kip) that weren't anything spectacular. I remember thinking "we could have had 3 of these on the street for that price".

For lunch we ordered a baguette, which was delicious and pad thai, also very good. The service was friendly and prompt. They even called our hotel to pick us up on our request. The bill wasn't unreasonable, but it seems to be more of a dinner place. Our portions were perfect for lunch. The pad thai was very nice. I'd recommend that for 35 000 kip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Garden also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.