We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool lights at night...and soft icecream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Garden

Coconut Garden
Sisavangvong Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool lights at night...and soft icecream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We were there in August 2012, the lights were what drew us in the the place. We sat on the street level, it had a relaxed and professional atmosphere. Prices were reasonable and you can't beat the location on your way to the night market.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    219
    72
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Nice, but expensive lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We decided to stop in here for a quick lunch before the Palace Museum was opening at 1:30pm.
The atmosphere was great. Lots of different places to sit, all with a very enchanting experience. The drinks were quite expensive (beer was 18000 kip). We opted for fruit shakes (15000kip) that weren't anything spectacular. I remember thinking "we could have had 3 of these on the street for that price".

For lunch we ordered a baguette, which was delicious and pad thai, also very good. The service was friendly and prompt. They even called our hotel to pick us up on our request. The bill wasn't unreasonable, but it seems to be more of a dinner place. Our portions were perfect for lunch. The pad thai was very nice. I'd recommend that for 35 000 kip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“I came to Luang Prabang and found... Sausages !?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed in Luang Prabang for 4 nights beginning of August 2012. We were recommended to the restaurant by travellers we met enroute. We ate there twice. A large indoor restaurant area, with an interesting fish tank and a large garden area. The service was great really helpful, but not over attentive. Food was stunning. I had never heard of Luang Prabang sausages, they are wonderful. Britain prides itself in making good sausages, these were up there with the best. Mekong riverfish in individual bananaleaf parcels, crunchy fresh stirfried vegetables, baskets of sticky rice and one of the best bowls of fries ever :0). Something for everyone. $20 for 2 including cocktails, beers and water.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food in great settings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This restaurant doesn't look much from the street, but when you come in it opens up like many others in Luang Prabang. I would recommend to sit in the garden, that looked the most cosy.
The food was great although I would call it slightly overpriced for what it was. We ordered two items from the BBQ menu and they were good but not good enough to be worth the high price I would say, the chicken steak could easily have been made on a pan and the fried potatoes were too small a portion size. Still a good experience and great service at the restaurant by the attentive staff makes it worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Almost missed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lovely setting, professional staff, great food, well priced - what more could you want? A lovely final evening in Luang Prabang.

The only minor issues was that they had run out of ice cream for dessert so we grabbed a lemon and sugar crepe from the stall across the road - very nice and only 10k kip so all's well that ends well!

Their English is not all that great - I asked two of them if they were also open for lunch but they did not understand me. All the menu items have numbers beside them so very easy for them to take your order.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Garden also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.