We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great outdoor ambience matched by the quality of the food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Garden

Coconut Garden
Sisavangvong Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great outdoor ambience matched by the quality of the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Have returned to this restaurant 3 times over 3 different visits to LPB and each time have been impressed by the overall experience.
The staff are attentive and friendly, the Laos food is delicous and better than several other nearby restaurants. They have a pleasant garden area at the front as well as a quieter one at the back and there is a further area on the 2nd floor looking over the two gardens.
Will definitey go back again on future trips

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    174
    46
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have just had our third visit to Luang Prabang and visited Coconut Garden restaurant for the first time. We sat in the lovely area out the back and preferred this to the plainish area in the front. What we ate was good fresh Lao food and the service was fast and good and the music conducive to the relaxed feel of the night. We will definitely be returning on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

International and moke-lao uninteresting food. In the middle of the pineapple season, when you can eat delicious fruits on the streets, they serve you a salad of green and disgusting pears imported from china

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal, good flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This holiday started with a meal here and it was very tasty and good value (the pork ribs were especially delicious). There was a wide range of dishes on offer, service was good and we did not have to wait long for any of the food to arrive.

My one criticism is that it was very busy when we arrived and it was not what I would call a relaxing dinner as we were close to the bar area where lots of waiters were dashing to and from.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot, awesome Laosian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

Lovely restaurant with two great outdoor courtyards. We ordered all Laosian dishes and loved everything we got. I particulary enjoyed the dried buffalo appetizer and the Pork with ginger.

I would definitely go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Garden also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.