We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced homestay in quiet area” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vanvisa Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vanvisa Guesthouse to your Saves list
Vanvisa Guesthouse
42 / 2 Ban Wat That | PO Box 666, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Overpriced homestay in quiet area”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

As with all accomodations in LPB Vanvisa is somewhat overpriced. I had room #2 with shower and toilet and paid € 15 per night, I stayed three nights. No breakfast was served. The location is in a residential area, 100 meters from the Mekong and 500 meters from the night market.
The rooms are part of the house were four generation live together, but there is little interaction with the family

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
7
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have stayed in Vanvisa Guest house for more than 2 weeks. I suggest this place for budget travelers of all kind. If you want to have home stay experience with Lao hospitality, this is a good place. The vanvisa family are very very nice and warm hearted especially Madam Vandara and the little cutie Pepsi. The tariff is reasonable and you will get the comfort of what you have paid for. The rooms are bit small but it is clean and with good wi-fi connection. Moreover it is only 5 to 10 minutes walk to the city center and restaurants. If you are a person who likes the slow pace of life, appreciate the goodness of people and careful in spending- then this is your place. You can trust my review.

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor has more privacy. In Vanvisa 2 the Balcony is much better that the Vanvisa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montjean, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were booked in but when we arrived at 9.00pm our room was not ready and we were told to go away and come back in an hour then maybe our room would be free. Someone was sleeping in the entrance and there were various hangers on watching tv. Plus the place stank. Needless to say we walked away and hopefully we will get a refund for the three days we have paid

Room Tip: Avoid it like the plauge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I had booked a double bed on top floor, and was given a twin bed on ground floor(noisy!).I was told I would be given the correct room the following day, buit this never happenned. Also the room had not been cleaned ever during the stay!
I had booked an airport transfer as this was apparently offered by hotel. When I got to Luang Prabang, nobody was at airport, and taxi had no idea as to where the guesthouse was located
Again location was given as town center on Agoda. That is town center after you have been walking for 15 minutes. Location not good either!
highly NOT recomended!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The room very small, dirty not comfotable, price overcharge, we stayed 1 night befor change to the Nice hotel nearby, the location was ok but service very terrible. Staff unfriendly. Not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

A Guesthouse with no breakfast possibilities, WiFi only in the entrance area, no AC, it is authentic to see four generations live under one roof; yet the rooms on the ground floor are pretty narrow and sticky. Rooms upstairs a bit better, yet in the end we did not get it why this place should deserve special mentioning in tour guides

Room Tip: Get rooms upstairs, they are spacier and have real windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I found Vanvisa through the Lonely Planet and booked in advance of arriving at Luang Prabang. I ended up staying just 1 night as I felt it was over priced and the location was not ideal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vanvisa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanvisa Guesthouse

Address: 42 / 2 Ban Wat That | PO Box 666, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hustle of today’s Luang Prabang we want to receive our guests in our family home in Lao style. Our comfortable, affordable rooms, are decorated with local materials and antiques. We love to invite you to our table and prepare true Lao dishes for your or organise a cooking lesson by our owner, Mrs. Vandara, one of the most respected cooks in the region. Welcome to our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Vanvisa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vanvisa Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.