We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, quiet, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vangsavath Hotel to your Saves list
Vangsavath Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 230 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, quiet, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a nice property, a little far away from Luang Prabang but you can borrow one of their bicycles or there is a shuttle service to and from the hotel. Ask for one of the renovated rooms, big difference with the older rooms. Service is great and the staff is willing to help you with anything you might need, from tour operators to taking and picking you up from the airport.

Room Tip: Try to get the renovated rooms, the difference with the older ones is abysmal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    77
    17
    14
    11
See reviews for
45
118
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014 and it was absolutely fantastic. We only booked one night at first but ended up staying longer. Yes, it is a bit far from the main area of town, but they have a free shuttle service and free bikes - that and the hospitality of the staff more than makes up for it. Paul and his mother Daeng are an absolute delight, the sweetest and most helpful people you will ever meet. They give great advice on what to do and see both in town and around the area and are extremely attentive to your needs. I am so glad we decided to stay here despite the distance from town. Comfortable and clean rooms as well. I had been traveling for 5 weeks so far and this was by far the best and warmest reception I received at any hotel or hostel. I am already looking forward to a future visit to Luang Prabang and to Vangsavath Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed for two nights in Jan 2014 and loved it. The location is slightly out of the main town area (less touristy but more local), but the free shuttle service and bicycles made up for it. Its location next to PhouSi Market was a plus for us too, well, to those who like the local vibe and looking around at what the locals get up to daily. Paul (the owner), his mum and the hotel staff are warm and friendly and will go the extra mile to accommodate their guests. However, don't take their kindness for granted! Free flow of fresh bananas, coffee, tea and drinking water at any time of the day or night, doubt any other hotel in LP offers that at such a price. For the price you pay, this hotel gives more than what you pay for! Will definitely stay there in my next visit to LP.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights beginning of January and were quite dissapointed eventhough Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

we probably had badluck being given a room next to the reception area, no heating, dirty and old curtains. very noisy. Breakfast was Ok but really nothing special. we did not feel comfortable in our room during our stay and booked another hotel for our further stay in Luang prabang.

there are easy and free shuttle service several times a day which is great. but for the price you pay, being outside of the city centre we were dissapointed.

i would definately recommed anybody staying here to book a deluxe room upstairs somewhere , they are probably much better!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

As previous reviews have already said you get a lovely service here and that is why I have rated it 4 stars. Paul and his staff do their best to help in any way. We needed thick blankets (it was cold) We got them. We also got lifts into town in the shuttle and the service was on time and the driver very smiley and courteous. Bikes to ride into town (10-15 mins) were welcome. It is flat so the bike does most of the work. Staff altered the seats to suit. The hotel is nice looking on the outside. I liked the location as you could see some village type life away from the town. We had a deluxe room which I liked though it was not particularly large. Be prepared to be woken by chickens depending on how well you sleep and where you are. Again the deluxe rooms seemed to be quieter. It did have a bath and water was always hot (don't be surprised when you find it is cold at night. It was about 8 degrees. ) The room was wood and was certainly warner than the first room we were in (which was not deluxe). Paul helped us with many things including finding tuk tuks to waterfalls and to our cruise early in the morning. As a reviewer has previously mentioned his English is pretty good so that is a bonus! Breakfast was Ok especially when busy as food was served hot from the pan with omelettes and pancakes. I think they need a stronger coffee as I really loved the coffee in Laos. All in all many many thanks for making our stay memorable and happy new year to all.

Room Tip: choose your room carefully if you have problems with sleep. Paul would help with that. It will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

As others have said, this hotel is a gem of friendliness, cleanliness, and service. I arrived at 7:00 AM from an overnight bus trip. No problem. Would you like some breakfast? Your room is ready. Can we do anything for you?
The hotel is away from the old city (which is to say, away from the buzz of the tourist quarter), which you may or may not find attractive. In compensation, they offer free shuttle rides for the seriously relaxed, or free bicycle use for the more active. But it's a short walk to a number of places that I found interesting -- a weaving center, the local Phosy market, the small low-key Nong Kham monastery where you can chat with the monks who are interested in practicing English & Japanese, the 6:45 AM parade of monks to receive alms.
The (Western) breakfast is ample, tea & bananas are available all the time, the facilities are only 8 years old, but beautifully built in colonial style with lots of dark wood.
Hands-on managed by the family owners who are genuinely sweet people. I love this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed there for a week. Greeted warmly upon arrival by mother and son who own the hotel. After checked in, I wanted to go downtown, but unfortunately the next transportation from the hotel to downtown was 2 hours away. When the mom owner found out I had to wait 2 hours for the next scheduled transport, she immediately ordered the driver to take me downtown. Nice! The next day on breakfast, I kept getting food on my plate because the mom owner kept offering me food. Nice! Tea, coffee, water, bananas were available for free 24/7. Nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 2 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 7 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vangsavath Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.