We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience in Laos.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vangsavath Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vangsavath Hotel to your Saves list
Vangsavath Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 230 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great experience in Laos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel set in an amazing colonial mansion with a lovely, large garden. The shuttle service to downtown was a great plus and Lao breakfast served in the garden was delicious. Our room was very comfortable and decorated with nice, Laosian style furniture. Staff were really helpful and very efficient.
We were helped and assessed when taking up activities and we felt at home. The management was impeccable and warm: it was the best choice we could have made!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    77
    17
    14
    11
See reviews for
45
118
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely little hotel. It is 2 mins out of town - not too far and it has the added bonus of offering a shuttle bus to and from town all day and night at highly convenient times. The staff at this lovely hotel were just amazing! The family that run this hotel go out of their way to make you feel special.
We were travelling with 2 children and found the rooms to be more than large enough to accommodate us all in one room. The kids had a great time exploring around the lovely tropical grounds in the afternoons. The flower arrangements throughout the hotel are from the gardens and are quite spectacular. There was talk of a pool being put in in the future which would be a great addition!
Breakfasts were very nice and offered eggs a la carte if you wanted. Not large breakfasts but we found them more than adequate. The pushbikes are available to ride into town if you want to and they have ones for kids as well. The wireless internet worked well.
We organised a few tours with them and found them to be more than willing to help arrange and explain everything for us. This hotel was by far one of the best we stayed in in our whole time in Laos. It was also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My Mother, Father and myself stayed at the Vangsavath Hotel in May 2012 when we were on our holiday in Laos. We were offered complimentary drinks on arrival and the staff were very friendly. They organised all of the tuk tuk's for us if we were going out and they gave us some more ideas and recommendations of where to go when we stayed in Luang Prabang. They made a wonderful variety of breakfast each day that we could choose from and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. They also offered to wash our clothes for us and they had lots of interesting things to say. We had a room with a double bed and a single bed and a shower. It was a lovely clean room and it was a comfortable place to stay. There was a nice balcony to look at the gardens of the hotel. Overall we had a lovely stay at the Vangsavath Hotel and we had a lovely holiday. Thank you to the staff and I hope I can make it back for another holiday again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family had the pleasure of staying at the Vangsavath Hotel for 2 nights and found the owners very friendly and helpful. We got separated from our daughter and her boyfriend on our horror boat trip down the Mekong and Paul went out of his way to help find us, calm 2 panicking guests and settle them into their room. The hotel is a little out of town, but the free shuttle bus gets you into town in the blink of an eye and magically appears when you need to return to the hotel. The rooms were comfortable with free wifi and aircon and breakfast was delicious. I have no hesitation recommending this hotel and would love to return for a longer visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Brook, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just had 4 nights at Vangsavath hotel and were made to feel welcome from the minute we walked in the door. We are a family of 2 parents, teenage daughter & son & his girlfriend. We had a double with bath & a triple room. We were helped with luggage given a drink then an iPad tour which we all related to. Free shuttle into town & helpful recommendations for dining. Night market every night in town & the driver of shuttle just asked when we wanted pickup time out of a choice of times. Paul spoke excellent English & helped us plan activities without having to book set tours which made our kids happy. We rode the free bikes into town & loved the freedom of this. Breakfast delicious & catered to all our tastes. Paul's mum was so kind when my husband was sick & gave toast & jam & then herbal tea to cure tummy problems. We had a free shuttle to bus station when we left. I could have stayed another week if time had allowed. Highly recommend a stay here for charm & friendliness. All our young adult family loved it here & enjoyed Luang Prabang especially. The outside street is a busy place but this is set back & was peaceful.

Room Tip: Double with bath nicer for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family had a faultless experience at the Vangsavath Hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to help us. The rooms are comfortable with aircon and free wifi. There is a free shuttle bus into the town centre which makes getting around very easy. You can also hire free bicycles from the hotel. The breakfast was very tasty with a range of options offered. The staff recommended some great attractions and spoke good english too. I would, without doubt, recommend this place to anyone visiting the lovely town of Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family stayed at the Vangsavath for 3 days and wanted to stay longer. The owners went out of their way to make our visit hassle free and suggested loads of interesting activities. Nothing was too much trouble. The location was great - just out of the noisy town centre but close enough for that not to be an issue for access. There are bikes and a hotel shuttle available. The rooms were comfortable and we were made to feel really at home. Thanks so much for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vangsavath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsavath Hotel

Address: Phetsarath road | Ban Nongkham, Luang Prabang 60000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangsavath Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsavath hotel is a colonial building architecture, the hotel which consist 3 building of room types. Running family hotel business. The hotel is beautiful, cleaning and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Behind the hotel have a nice garden environment by natural of many kind of flowers with pond the guest can relaxing. From the hotel distance into the night market just 2 minutes 2.2 KM by hotel shuttle bus if the guest who can riding a bicycle the hotel prefer free bicycles into downtown from the hotel cycling go to the night market only 7 minutes by bicycles. Vangsavath hotel is nearly phosy market and ock pop tok weaving centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Vangsavath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vangsavath Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.