We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
(Mekong Riverside) Ban Vatnong | Ounkham Rd, 18/02, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 222 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in a front room overlooking the Mekong river.The room was clean, had a wooden floor,high ceiling and was of great value for the price of 50$ including breakfast for 2 on the bank of the river. But the real value was Mr Vong and his lovely wife not only for us as tourists but also for his lovely city Luang Prabang. He was always warm,smiling and ready to answer all our questions and take us to his personal rounds in early morning to watch his contribution to community in the neighbouring wats and later giving alms to a procession of monks.We had 4 lovely days and did not forget to visit the grave of Henry Mouhot. All in all Mr Vong had a great part in the fondness we developed for this lovely city.There is no question where we"ll stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for front room overlooking the Mekong. As there are only 3 rooms like that better reserve early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    34
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
71
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I had a lovely room on the first floor overlooking the Mekong and the hotel terrace on the opposite side of the road. Vong was a mine of information and extremely courteous. He recommended a couple of restaurants one of which was The Elephant. A French restaurant and although by Laos standards it was not cheap it was superb. My room had a highly polished wooden floor and was super clean. Breakfast was very good and could be eaten in the Guest House or across the road on the river terrace, Plenty of hot water for a shower, not always the case in some establishments.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room on the front.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Chitdara 2 for our first visit to Luang Prabang. It overlooks the Mekong River. Rooms have high ceilings, are clean and comfortable, and breakfast (included) is offered on a terrace overlooking the river.

Best of all, though, is the owner. He is an older Lao man who speaks excellent French and good English in addition to Lao. He was welcoming and helpful and went out of his way to make sure we had what we needed to enjoy our stay in Luang Prabang.

Luang Prabang is more expensive than the rest of Laos, so our room ($50 USD / night) seemed like a steal.

We'd highly recommend this hotel. We only regret that they had no availability on our return to the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My partner and I travelled through Laos for 2 weeks and this was our favourite accomodation by far! From the moment we walked into the guesthouse we were greeted with a very warm welcome by the staff who spoke excellent english. We were provided with a detailed map of the city and shown all the favourite tourist sites around LPB. Our room was very "homely" and comfortable. After lunch Vong went out of his way to greet us and apologise for not being around when we arrived. The complimentary breakfast was the best we had had - fresh fruit, bread, cake, coffee & eggs every morning while over-looking the mekong. A very friendly, welcoming and helpful atmosphere... will definitely be going back when we return to LPB - wouldnt stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
famagusta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Well, it seems I am alone among myriad tourists in Luang Prabang not to be moved to employ superlatives to describe both the guesthouse and its feted owner.

I arrived around lunchtime to a less than enthusiastic welcome; indeed, it was no welcome at all. The owner peered at me suspiciously over the rim of his laptop screen, while the boy at reception stood perplexed behind the reception counter. Who was this woman who had presumed to cross their august threshold? After fixing me with an inquisitorial stare, the owner demanded: "Do you have a reservation?", to which I responded in the affirmative, adding that the booking had been made three weeks earlier. He curtly asked my name and with an air of mild irritation consulted his laptop, while I remained standing in the hotel entrance and the receptionist remained rooted to his spot behind the reception desk. Upon discovering that I did indeed have a reservation, the owner barked incredulously: "Only one person?" as though it were an outrage for a single person to have booked a double room. Satisfied at last that I was indeed the guest I purported to be, he slowly rose from his seat behind his laptop and approached me, only to inform me in a dismissive manner that his "staff" would deliver the welcome spiel. Whereupon, the previously statuesque boy ventured out from the safety of his corner to robotically recite his given lines.

Cutting the boy short, I asked to see the room, which had been described to me in an email sent by the owner as a ground-floor room with a private terrace affording a view of the river. What I found, however, was a dark, drab room whose only source of light was through double wooden doors which opened directly onto the said "terrace" -- a handkerchief of space on a public thoroughfare upon which the ground-floor bedroom and hotel entrance spilled. In other words, were one to desire natural daylight to penetrate into the crepuscular room, one would have to open the double doors onto the narrow pavement which bordered the road running parallel to the river (the famous scene from Monty Python's 'Life of Brian' springs to mind here). Most galling of all, however, was the fact that the room's "private terrace", marked off from the rest of the pavement by a shabby green cloth masquerading as grass and upon which stood a table and two wicker chairs, was occupied by two guests. (I happened to walk past the guesthouse later in the day and noticed that the same two guests were still seated in the same place).

Unimpressed and considerably irked by the owner's brazen misrepresentation of view (not of the river but of a tourist-thronged throughfare, a road, and the opposite banks of the river) and private terrace, I informed the receptionist I would not be staying and proceeded down the road to find alternative lodging. This being peak season, I was forced to spend one night in one guesthouse and one night in another, before returning to Vientiane.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This guesthouse is a gem. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and such a good deal for the price. The location is great, right on the Mekong River and there are so many restaurants within a 2 minute walk but it's on a quieter street so you won't be kept awake by the busy night market which is only a 5 minute walk away. The best part of this guesthouse is Mr Vong and his wonderful wife and all the friendly staff. They really make your stay here memorable and they truly make you feel at home. Mr Vong takes guest every morning to participate in the monk procession on a less busy street right behind the guesthouse and explains everything to you so you get the full experience. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Thanks Mr Vong for taking care of us during our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms, a twin on the second floor overlooking the river and a double on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We tried contrasting types of accommodation in LP: 2 nights at the 5-star Amantaka resort and 2 nights at Villa Chitdara 2. We actually preferred the $50/night guesthouse - honest. The room was cosier with view of the street below and the Mekong beyond; location was facing the river and nearer good restaurants & shops; staff were much warmer and chattier, not silent obsequious servers but friendly locals - the young Laotian on daytime duty during our stay was working there to pay for his finance studies. We liked the ginger tea on tap and really enjoyed the alfresco breakfast of omelette & fresh baguette overlooking the river. Overall the guesthouse experience felt more authentic & genuinely welcoming, less detached from local life, than the exquisitely elegant hotel.

Hot water for shower was plentiful, basic soap & shampoo provided, and towels (minor quibble: bath-towel size a bit small), everything was clean and worked. Wifi was slow but it's slow all over the town. Communal kettle, tea/coffee, snacks, bananas etc provided on ground floor (rooms are upstairs). There's no safe in the room but M Vong will keep valuables in a sealed envelope in his safe downstairs. They will also arrange excursions, e.g. a tuk-tuk for our trip to Kuang Si waterfalls & back.

Stay here if you don't need to be cocooned in luxury in a vast room within landscaped grounds with perfectly coordinated decor, but prefer local hospitality that feels more like a home along the river than a hotel in its own walled compound.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. A road separates the guesthouse from the river but there's not much t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse

Address: (Mekong Riverside) Ban Vatnong | Ounkham Rd, 18/02, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.