We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips

Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips
Ban Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang, Laos
+856 71 252 417
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elephant Village in Luang Prabang was set up in 2003 and is now owned by a group of passioante Lao nationals. Our sales office is located on the main street in town close to the National Museum and our beautiful elephant camp is located next to the village Ban Xieng Lom. Elephant Village focuses on three objectives:1. Saving Elephants 2. Community Support 3. Nature Preservation. We take elephants out of the very dangerous logging industry and provide them with an alternative way of earning their income. We try to help the elephants which desperately need help the most such as older elephants and elephants which have injuries due to accidents. We currently have 14 elephants in our care including 2 baby elephants which will never have to work in the logging industry. We are also home to a female elephant called Mae Uak, who was injured when she stepped on a 'UXO' (Un-Exploded Ordinance) some time ago, before we rescued her. She is now happily living in our herd.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Essex UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was dubious about booking this trip as there are so many on offer and I did not want to go somewhere where elephants were mistreated or taken advantage of. After some research however I decided to book with elephant village. A so glad that I did! The guides teach you about the elephants and where they have come from etc. the elephants are all rescued from the logging industry and are not able to return to the wild so the village gives them A home where they ear their keep working a few hours a day with us visitors. They looked happy and well cared for and get to return to the jungle at 3pm each day. The ride was great but the best bit was bathing the elephants... Just amazing! Definitely worth the money!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    115
    35
    23
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmic Harbour, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SUCH a thrill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went for the morning (1 hour) elephant ride--even though most of us wanted the option to "bathe" the elephants too (which doubles the price, and is an afternoon option). The ride was so much more and so much better than we anticipated! Generally 2 people ride with the mahut, although our party had one gal on her own (hence her own elephant). We ambled down to the river and over to a pebble island. En route we each had the option of climbing down to sit on the neck of the elephant, our mahuts controlled them and took pictures for us. When the elephants climbed up out of the river, we rode through a small town. It was exciting and well worth the price of admission !!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We did the Full Day Elephant Experience, including the “Trail of Falls” option with Elephant Village and it was just the 2 of us on the tour (which was nice!). This included a boat trip on the Nam Khan River, a one hour trek, lunch and a one hour elephant ride. The Elephant Village Sanctuary is in a beautiful setting and it would've been nice to stay overnight. It was great to learn more about the project and their mission to help the elephants. The money is definitely going towards a good cause. We went to the Tad Sae Waterfall but it is completely dry during the dry season as we’d been advised. The elephant ride was a fantastic experience and definitely the highlight. The trek itself wasn’t amazing, but the lunch spot was picturesque. Perhaps the half day option is better if you’re not doing it for the trek. Our guide Pet was very considerate and accommodating when my partner wasn’t feeling well. The mahout was friendly and took lots of photos for us. If you’re going to Elephant Village, I recommend to book directly with them and not go through Tiger Trails as they really messed us around with our booking (both offices are close together in the main street of town).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great mahout training day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A fab day training with the elephants. We were picked up in our guest house and brough to the sanctuary. The ground of the sanctuary are very well kept and the view is amazing view over the river. We then were taught how to instruct the elephant to go left, right, sit..... We then on our first ride on the neck of the elephant. Omg that was nice scary. Once we all had a go, we went for a ride on the elephant on a saddle. That was lovely. We then fed our elephants of bananas and had a good lunch ourselves. Note you have to pay for bananas and drinks. After lunch we went back on the neck of our elephant to bath him. That was great fun. Then we went on the boat to the waterfall. It was a great day!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked our 2 day Mahout experience through "Tiger Trail". My boyfriend and I are animal people and had been looking forward to this for months.
All expectations were met - our guide Camdee was so lovely, the food was great and the elephants were beautiful. We stayed in the elephant village just down the road from the "Shangri Laos" (where the elephant camp is located) - if I had to make one recommendation it would be to pay a little extra and stay at the Shangri Laos - we got a tour of the place and it was stunning. However, the place we stayed in just a short walk away was also quite pleasant and comfortable. Its not the cheapest of tours that you can do, but you really see where the money goes. We were happy to support the program. Thank you so much for such a wonderful experience. We didn't want to leave!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.