We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - wish I could've stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips

Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips
Ban Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang, Laos
+856 71 252 417
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 47 Activities in Luang Prabang
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elephant Village in Luang Prabang was set up by Markus Peschke in 2003. Our sales office is located on the main street in town close to the National Museum.Our beautiful elephant camp is located next to the village Ban Xieng Lom. Elephant Village focuses on three objectives:1. Saving Elephants 2. Community Support3. Nature Preservation. We take elephants out of the very dangerous logging industry and provide them with an alternative way of earning their income. We try to help the elephants which desperately need help the most. For example, older elephants and elephants which have injuries due to accidents. We currently have 9 elephants in our care. Our most recently acquired elephant is a disabled female who was injured when she stepped on a 'UXO' (Un-Exploded Ordinance) some time ago. She is happily living in our herd.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful - wish I could've stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Amazing experience! I did a 1 day Mahout training & really wish I could've stayed for days. Beautiful location and very informative about elephants and current issues surrounding their survival and quality of life. Great guides and opportunities to ride and wash the elephants. Food was great and the pool was a refreshing way to finish the day. Some other elephant experiences in Laos and other SE Asian countries have reports of animal mistreatment, at the Elephant Village I saw none of that and would highly recommend choosing this company for an elephant experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    101
    34
    23
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The staff was wonderful and I totally enjoyed riding the elephants. We stayed overnight and the grounds and rooms were beautiful. Great pool although it closed a t 3:00.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Way too expensive !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked 2 days (Mahout program) and payed on their online site 576 USD for 2 adults + 2 kids (6 and 9 years old). For this price we were expecting something else than:

- first day finished at 14:40 (began at 10:00 when arriving at the Elephant village)
- second day from 7:30 to 10:00 (when leaving the Elephant village).

The activities with the elephants are fun but really short and the boat ride to the waterfall is senseless since apparently there is no water running but no other activity is proposed to replace it !

For this price we were expecting a bit (or a lot !) more.
I had to give one star to thank the personnel working there, especially the dedicated Mahout.
DO NOT GO !!! The money does not serve neither the elephants nor the staff but certainly more the owner and his vintage car collection.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Van L,

thank you for your review. I am very much wondering about the price you have stated of the cost of your tour. If I calculate the tour cost according to your information 3 Adults and 1 child, then the cost should be 455 US$. If you want to put a review than please stick to the facts and do not put untruth information here.
Why you complain about the time schedule of the tour? I am sure you must have read the tour description and you knew what you have bought, right?
Your hint to the owners car collection does not fit in here. I can tell you that each car has cost not more than a 1.000 US$ and these were the cars available for low budgets during the time when the owner came in 1998 to Luang Prabang, before he started the Elephant Village in 2003. Most Lao people sold their cars to the Chinese scrap metal dealers, but Mr. Markus kept them as they are a reminder of the old days in Laos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the day, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was a very enjoyable day, especially bathing the elephants which was magic. As far as we could tell, the elephants seemed well cared for, and we didn't see any of the mahouts using sticks. There was a lot of waiting around, which we expected having read other reviews, but you can watch the elephants or sit and enjoy the beautiful location. The 'mahout training' was very short and we weren't really given an opportunity to try to steer the elephants ourselves as it was just a few minutes on a very short set circuit which the elephants clearly knew well, and the mahouts were steering them anyway.

In spite of that we would still have given 4 stars if the promised 1 hour elephant ride had been anything like an hour. In fact it was barely 35 minutes. The route is so short that it's hard to see that it can ever take an hour. Our elephants weren't exactly rushing! We felt that this was dishonest advertising, and the aim seemed to be to get as many visitors round as possible in as short a time as possible. Also given the price it seemed a bit penny-pinching to ask us to pay extra for a few bananas to feed the elephants.

A few changes, and a more honest indication of what you can expect, would make this an excellent day out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A fun and elephant sensitive day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The one day Mahout training was genuine fun--riding on the elephant's neck and later bathing them (though we got the wettest)
We hesitated with any elephant camp but Lotus Villa assured us that Elephant Village was a real elephant sanctuary treating the animals well. They are all ex-working elephants. The guides were
friendly and experts in almost all cameras so our pictures are great. Expect a true Laotian pace--languid and relaxing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Village Sanctuary Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.