We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to cool off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joma Bakery Cafe

Joma Bakery Cafe
Chao Fa Ngum | Next to Post Office, Luang Prabang 85600, Laos
+856-71-252-292
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Bagels, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to cool off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was like a little slice of a western coffee shop back home. The atmosphere was pleasant and the food and service were extremely good and definitely VFM even though they were more expensive than a lot of the other coffee shops in area.

Free wi-fi and comfy atmosphere made it a good place to recuperate between temple visits and sightseeing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi SBQE2,

Thanks a ton for your 4 star review of Joma! We're glad that you chose us for your cool down from the hot city that is LP. We've shared your lovely comments about our staff with them. We hope the rest of your journeys were just a good as LP.

Safe travels,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    284
    84
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
646 reviews 646 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 305 cities Reviews in 305 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
“Nanaimo bars and sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great sandwiches, great fruit shakes, and Ninaimo bars in Laos, what else could u ask for. Free wifi, simple decor, friendly service. A little touch of Canada

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi OntarioCanuck,

Thanks a ton for your 5 star review of Joma! We're glad you could find a little piece of home in Laos. Canadians have an appreciation for Joma that is unrivaled! Hope the rest of your travels were/are great!

Best,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Bakery in S.E. Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

.... Well, at least the best that we have found. Good cookies, tarts, pies and the fruit shakes were really tasty too. Try the Nanaimo Bars. They are a ganach and buttercream bar on a chocolate and coconut crumb base and a treat well know in Canada (Canadian owners). We became addicted. Yes, they are very sweet, but soooo sinfully delicious.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi ThriveSF,

Thanks a ton for your lovely review of Joma! Oh, the wonders of the Nanaimo bar. Truly a life changer. So glad you loved our bakery and we hope to see you again soon.

Have a great day!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Uninviting space with poor selection of pastries”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were looking forward to visiting Joma, given good reviews, but as soon as we entered the bakery were underwhelmed by a fairly spartan space and ordinary-looking pastries. It was also hot and slightly smelly (no beautiful baking aroma here). Grabbed a pretty flaccid croissant to eat take-away, which was adequate but nothing to write home about (the croissant at Kuang Si falls, by contrast, was sensational). All in all a disappointing experience, particularly when we were so looking forward to it. Would recommend many other places to eat in Luang Prabang.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Andrew R,

Thanks for your review of Joma. We appreciate your constructive feedback on our croissants. We're always looking for ways to improve our product. We're sorry it was slightly smelly in the cafe and it's possible a now fixed sewage problem was to blame. We hope you give us a chance again in the future in LP or at one of our other locations.

Have a great rest of your travels,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect pit stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Fantastic little coffee shop serving teas, coffees, juices and superb cakes. A great little pit stop with wifi whilst you work out your next route with a wonderful individual charm.
Really friendly staff, great customer service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomaLPB, Manager at Joma Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi emma i,

Thanks a ton for your review of Joma! We're glad you enjoyed a bit of home and caught up with people back home. Your comments on customer service were passed on to our lovely staff.

Have a great rest of your trip,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joma Bakery Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Joma Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joma Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.