We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to spend an evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luang Prabang Night Market

Luang Prabang Night Market
Sisavangvong Rd, Alley Behind Lao National Tourism Office, Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Shopping in Luang Prabang
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend an evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Even though you see much of the same, it is fun to wander through the night markets in Luang Prabang. We found a few fun things along the way. I especially appreciated the pleasant dealings with everyone in the market. No hassles and no one was aggressive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    164
    58
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
170 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Come by since it's the only thing to do at night!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The night market hardly has any thing that is interesting for shoppers, other than the food area where they have USD 2 buffets and nice bbqed food. There are hardly any locals shopping here and the vendors here work to service the few tourists that come to see Luang Prabang and view the traditional Buddhist alms ceremony that takes place each day before sun rise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“this is fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Its a good market. They have typical marked stuff; souvenirs, lao coffee, snake-wine, bags, childrens clothes, adult clothes, sarongs, things with elephants on them, jewellery, bags - nothing is fake here, everything is man made and in eco-friendly fabrics. Its what I think an Asian marked should be like; hand-made things and friendly with lively colours and lively people working there. And they are not pushy, as many other market salesmen/women are! You have to bargain, it's part of the game, but not too much, as this is what they live of, and the prices are cheap. You can pay in kip or in USD. I went there 3 times while I visited Luang Prabang, and bought most of my souvenirs there, so I had to drag them around for 5 more weeks before going back home to give them away. And EVERYBODY at home loved their presents.

I just loved it. For a chubby person the clothing will be a bit small, but you'll always find something :) It's just great. You have to go there when in Luang Prabang.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere market!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are here for a vacation for two nights and visited this night market for all two nights. The market shops basically sell similar things along the road (mostly souvenirs, handmade bags/t-shirts/art crafts..along with fruit shakes/drinks/crepes...etc). The best thing I would say is the perfect location...easy to walk. It was a comfy walking paced lane with no cars disturbing you. All shops are bargainable, I would recommend you to compare prices although it is not that matters. Exp. I bought a long pant from one shop stand which costs 50,000 kip (6-7 dollars). While the stand nearby would sell the same thing for cheaper prices 30,000 kip (4 dollars)...well it is not that much of a big deal but don't rush. As said...along the street selling the same types of things...walk and relax...enjoy the nice atmosphere all along the road and you can decide later where to buy. :)

Great locations, great atmosphere, friendly people and unique experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“big market of crafts,clothes,accessories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Big market in terms of the size of the town.
starts around 6ish at night.
When you come from boat to luang prabang, the tuk tuk (costing 80 baht) will drop you in the town centre - the night market starts on this main street - stopping traffic .
Theres not many food stalls however, only fruit shakes etc at the very start of the street.
The restaurants along this street are the most expensive in the town also.
A lot of clothes, jewellery , and other souvener type things .
they put tents up so its undercover too (good for the rainy season!)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luang Prabang Night Market also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Luang Prabang Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luang Prabang Night Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.