We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of knick-knacks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luang Prabang Night Market

Luang Prabang Night Market
Sisavangvong Rd, Alley Behind Lao National Tourism Office, Luang Prabang, Laos
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Long Island City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of knick-knacks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great place to shop for gifts and souvenirs though the bargaining exhausted me! Bargaining is a given in Asia, but since I'm no good at it, I've developed a strategy:

Once I find something I'm interested in, I ask for the price and then shake my head and immediately start walking away. Invariably, the shopkeeper will then shout out lower and lower prices as I walk away. This is when you have to pay attention to the prices yelled out. That gives me an idea on what I can get away with and use that price at my next stop. (I've had a starting price of $20 down to $3 shouted out to my back :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    215
    73
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Guilty pleasures, Literally.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The vendors here are very pushy, every item i looked at i had lady's hounding me, shouting thousands at me. it was an ordeal to say the least ended up spending over £40 out of guilt for the sellers, if you dont like being hassled dont go here, they do have some lovely hand made trinkets, and stuff for when your'e back home. lots of silver also. The shakes and sanwiches are good and cheap. They also have a film festival for people that are in the area until december 5th 2012! If youre tall you have to duck alot!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Almost everyone sells the same thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Almost everyone at the market sells the same stuff. You can walk around and haggle with different vendors but most of them will settle at the same bottom price. If you're lucky, you may find someone selling the same thing at a cheaper price!

MUST BUY: Luang Prabang food specialities!

If you'd missed out buying certain stuff here, don't worry! You can always buy it in Vientiane and it's cheaper too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Local night market for tourist”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Beautiful carfts, a wide variety of textiles, clothing, carvings, basketry, quilts, and much more stall along 1km road surround by a few tourist attraction. Most of stall selling same items;) U can find a lot of local food at the end of night market stall. Good for those who feel got nothing to do;)

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“The food was good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The market stalls were very relaxed though you had to watch your head as the awnings are very low. The best part was the food market with the 10000 Kip vegetable buffet plates, if you want them heated, ask at the stall and they will Wok them for you. The whole fish was very tasted and the large piece of pork was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luang Prabang Night Market also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Luang Prabang Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luang Prabang Night Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.