We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   43/02 Kingkitsalath Rd | Ban Khily, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 230 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
queensland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent two nights here and really enjoyed our stay. We had previously stayed at the other end of town, near the centre, but preferred this area. Rooms are small but really nicely decorated and very well equipped. Bathroom was nice with a lovely big shower. The staff were very helpful and this was the only place in Laos we were not charged 3% commission for paying with a credit card. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms were lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    44
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
55
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived and few people were staying at the hotel, service was brilliant.
After a few days and more and more people arriving, the service deteriorated - don't think one breakfast order arrived correctly.
Our room is stylish, but small. The bed is really comfortable, and has a selection of pillows. The air con works a treat, but the only direction is straight on the bed.
The bathroom has a walk in shower, which is great, but the tiles need a good scrub, and often the drain has that sewer smell.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed three nights at Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres with its great location near the confluence of the Nam Khan and Mekong River. Great location from where to start exploring Luang Prabang on foot. Various major temples, such as Wat Xieng Thong and Wat Sane, are only a 5 minutes walk away. Friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast was served with croissants, pain au chocolat and omelet or scrambled eggs with juice and coffee. Our room had a good wifi connection and was nicely decorated.
Thanks to Chris and his staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here from the 03/10 for a few nights and found the hotel facilities to be fantastic. The hotel is clean and the rooms are modern, comfortable bed and a really big shower. The hotel is in a quieter end of town but close enough to everything and just a short stroll to the main street.
The only thing lacking was the level of service, although the staff were polite we had no real interaction with them at all. When we arrived the only thing we were told was the breakfast time, no welcome or information on the hotels services or Luang Prabang in general. Whenever we walked through reception you weren't acknowledged and when we asked any questions it was like staff didn't understand or know anything. Saying this staff weren't unfriendly at all but didn't seem to want to have any contact with you. Maybe it's a language barrier or more training needed but having great service and someone welcoming with knowledge, interacting with the customer would have made our stay so much more better. Even with the best facilities it's the level of service and how you are treated that really counts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a really enjoyable 4-night stay at the Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres. Comfortable bed, good wifi, nice showerhead and filling breakfasts. We arrived during the rainy season, so we received a "4-nights for 3" special which made it a good value. Thanks to Chris and Chai and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a great hotel in the quiet part of town. It is a 10 minute walk to most attractions in town including the night market, restaurants and various tour organizers. The staff was very accommodating and the included breakfasts were fine. The room was wonderful, although the river view rooms were quite expensive. Our room, looking onto a small courtyard, was fine for us. It was a bit of a challenge gaining access when coming back late if the front desk staff was off duty, but in the end we were able to find an open gate. The room price seemed a bit high for the area, but we were there in high season so perhaps that is what the market would bear. I would certainly consider this property on a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

What an amazing Hotel! from the initial email contact with Chris Mulder, checking in through to check out the team at Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres do everything possible and more to make you feel so very welcome. Gorgeous rooms, well appointed with a beautiful location made our weekend stay so very special. Airport pickups & drop offs organized . Sightseeing trips organized with proficient English speaking guides. Nothng was too much trouble. Free advice and maps on places to go and recommendations about places to eat made the trip truly memorable.

Room Tip: We had the large River View Suite which was fantasticQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres

Address: 43/02 Kingkitsalath Rd | Ban Khily, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new hotel (opened April 2010 to guests) is quietly situated on the banks of the Khan River, arguably the most relaxing place on the peninsula. The rooms are stylishly decorated and offer most modern facilities. A stroll to the town main strip takes about 15 minutes. All places of interest are just outside our lobby door. Day trips can be booked at our reception or just ask us for advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.