We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitor: just as memorable as previous visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Pumalin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Pumalin to your Saves list
Villa Pumalin
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Repeat visitor: just as memorable as previous visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

They accomodated the room request far in advance. Last stay at this property was April 2012 and they were very accomodating. Got the same room on this visit.

PRO: reliable WiFi with limited bandwidth, breakfast made to order, daily bottles of drinking water, good running water in the showers, awesome location in town center, room 101 very spacious.

CON: mosquitoes will come inside if you don't close doors and windows, must stand under the air conditioning unit in order for remote control to work.

Room Tip: Ask for room 101 if you need reliable WiFi. The signals are strongest there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is the third year in a row that I have stayed at the Pumalin. It may be overpriced (The walk-in rate is certainly overpriced) but it is so conviently located.
Many inexpensive guest houses are located up and down the same narrow street and also along the next 3 parallel streets. For people who do not have advance reservations in Luang Prabang, this a good area to search for a simple room.
The Pumalin has 2 wings. The new one is much more modern and comfortable. I was in the older one. The rooms have dark-paneled wood walls and ceiling so the rooms are dark. I prefer to have an upstairs room so that I can open the shutters and still have some privacy without seeing people pass in front of the window.
There was plenty of hot water, the TV worked well but the WiFi was slow inside the room. There were only 3 electric outlets - one at the head of the bed, one inside the closet and one for the refrigerator -- not very convenient for using the hair dryer.
Was it quiet? That depends on who your neighbors are, because other guest houses are very close. Western-style Breakfast is served in the little garden area. Asian-style breakfast can be served if ordered in advance.
All the major attractions -- the Royal Palace, Phousi Hill, the night market and most temples are within easy walking distance. The Joma bakery and cafe with delicious baked goods and snacks is at one end of the street and a few modest riverside restaurants with lovely views over the Mekong are at the other end.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

this hotel very nice room for relating for vacation to Asia more beautiful
I booked the room by email to make reservation the room 201 for 4 night very large room and balcony to relating
the staff in morning very friendly and give me information

I would not recommend the rooms 201 Double Bed
1 Big bed i love it a lot....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been there for 3 nights. I would not recommend the rooms at floor level because very low light inside but we had a large room at 1st floor. The room was very comfortable, all wooden with separated shower and WC. The staff is very friendly but I would not recommend that you book any tour with them: we had a bad experience. It is located in a quiet room 50m from Mekong.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campLuang_prabang, Owner at Villa Pumalin, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued customer, thank you so much for your generous review. I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We've changed the low lights in the first floor. Thank you for letting us know about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I don't submit reviews that aren't 5 star, as I don't like to hurt a business, however in this case I will break my personal rule. Many hotels I stay at simply don't get a review.

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at!

The room was OK, clean, well appointed, good size with very nice verandah.
The morning after our first night the Villa owners began a party in the courtyard below our room.
This involved disco and karaoke blasting out from huge speakers that was so loud our room was vibrating. When we arrived back from a day tour the party was still going, the courtyard below our room was trashed. At 7-00 pm when we walked out things were no better.
This is the worst and most impolite behaviour I have seen towards customers from any business anywhere in the world.
Our cycle tour guide had our inbound operators shift us to Kiridara Resort Luang Prabang immediately.
I will review the Kiridara on departure, so far seems idyllic.

Room Tip: Don't go there at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campLuang_prabang, Owner at Villa Pumalin, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking you time to write about your stay in Villa Pumalin. I just would like to apologie for the inconveniences caused when you were staying with us. We had a special traditional blessing party for my new born son. I'm sorry that we could not give you enough care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Depending where you stay in Luang Prabang, it can be blissfully quiet or plain noisy. Long before dawn, monks chant and roosters crow. Then motorbikes pass by and construction projects begin. So many new hotels and guest houses are being built that that they are often side-by side, so there can be noise from inconsiderate travelers next door. There is so much choice in where to stay, that it is difficult to compare value for money and, depending on your requirements, there are possibly better bargains elsewhere. But, I had stayed a couple of weeks at the Pumalin just 1 year before, and I chose to return here again.

I like this central area which is full of less expensive guest houses. Most attractions, such as the morning (food) market, the night market and the royal palace are within easy walking distance. To find the Pumalin, Just go to the Joma Bakery and Cafe, near the post office. Everyone knows where it is. Then walk down the small side street a couple of minutes. The Pumalin is very near the Mekong. All along the Mekong, there are modest outdoor restaurants with wonderful views across the River. Joma Cafe is a pleasant place for western snacks, salads and desserts.

Rooms may vary because there is an old wing and a new wing. The rooms are decorated in highly polished wood (careful not to slip) and the rooms are dark. There is no point in opening the shutters because most rooms just look out on other windows or walls. The upstairs rooms are perhaps quieter. My room had only 2 free electric outlets, located in the wardrobe closet and behind the refrigerator – not really very convenient to plug in a razor or hair dryer. The WC is separate from the bathroom. The air con is very gentle and quiet -- just perfect. The safe did not work. It did not work 1 year ago either.
Reception is located in an open air courtyard with tables and benches and this is where breakfast is served. Free coffee and tea are available at reception all day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Rooms are large and dark because they are all dark wood. Location is really good, one building back from the river and close to food and night markets. Breakfast was basic, but ok. We found it to be very quiet apart for the usual morning roosters! Fairly basic but comfortable.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Pumalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pumalin

Address: Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Pumalin 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Pumalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pumalin Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Pumalin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.