We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savory local Lao food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Nagas Restaurant

3 Nagas Restaurant
Ban Vatnong, Sakkaline Road, Luang Prabang 722, Laos
+ 856 71 253 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Restaurant is located on both sides of Main street with an Indoor and Air-conditioned section on one side and an external Bistro style section in the other. Renowned for its authenticity, it offers the best of traditional Lao Cuisine from simple dishes to feasts fit for Royalty. combined with a French flair. Staffed with knowledgeable and friendly employees who will guide you through the many delicacies on offer. Western dishes also available on request.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Savory local Lao food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent, fresh food (vegetables, meat, fish), friendly staff, centrally located next to night market

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Ruipmartins,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important.

We hope to have have the chance to welcome you back at 3Nagas restaurant.

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    85
    31
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Lovely Lao Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After seeing this restaurant featured on Luke Nguyen's Mekong series we were keen to sample the food and we were not disappointed. The meals were not expensive by western standards, service was excellent and what could be better than eating outside in such a beautiful setting.
The hit of the night was the Lao Chicken Curry. PS we had breakfast there as well and loved their steamed rice crepes with pork filling, and the Lao version of Pho. Yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Sabaidee Moonflower59,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience; we are glad you had a memorable time with us.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important.

We hope to have have the chance to welcome you back at 3Nagas restaurant.

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Seriously good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We turned up without a booking and the restaurant was full. A couple of tables were available outside however there was some misty light rain happening which made it uncomfortable. However with a little bit of a nudge the staff were excellent and set us up a table under the eaves of the accommodation wing across the road. We had the deep fried spring rolls, shredded chicken curry and the stir fried beef with onion and garlic together with a bottle of rosé - nothing short of excellent on every level.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Sijaamma,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience; we are glad you had a memorable time with us.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important; it will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors & to the management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Luang Prabang,

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rip off set menu but a la carte serves some good food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This restaurant does not understand set menu should offer variety at a good price. Here you get half that of those ordering a la carte and what is offered in terms of is very ordinary. This is a shame as others we were with really enjoyed the food which left an even more bitter taste for us. The spring rolls were fantastic, the chicken and fish cooked to a high standard and possibly the best deserts at restaurant in south east asia. The overpriced set however gave us an average salad, nice but very small chicken mouse, very dreary beef broth and a very average tapioca pooding. So annoyed I almost scored it 1 but if only they could sort out the set which our waiter recommended my mark may have been higher. Oh also alcohol very pricey, with beer 3 x what you can buy else where in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Sabaidee MartinBlakebrough62,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important.

We well noted your comments about the set menu and we are now working on a brand new a la carte & set menu selection

We hope to have have the chance to welcome you back at 3Nagas restaurant for new discovery!

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
“Very Good Lao Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ate at the part of 3 Nagas over the road from the main hotel. The area is pleasant, open to the street, and it’s interesting to see your meals being ushered to you from the main kitchen across the street under cover of an umbrella when it’s raining

As the restaurant is attached to the hotel of the same name, if you dine early you may well share the room as we did with frazzled hotel guests with’ beyond tired’ children, so it’s the luck of the draw whether your meal will be a peaceful one or not

The food however should take your mind off any such distractions. The miang was more of a peanut sauce, with not quite the same number of accompaniments to add to the betel leaves as we’ve had elsewhere, but with very good flavour. A pork stuffed tofu with tomato topping was excellent, as was the fish stuffed with minced pork and wrapped in banana leaves, although both came with the same good but apparently ubiquitous tamarind sauce. Purple sticky rice came elegantly wrapped in a banana leaf, and we shared double scoop of coconut ice-cream for dessert.

We’d also highly recommend the Tom Yum cocktails, with lots of lemongrass and a touch of chilli.

We weren’t that impressed with the wine list, and stuck to the cocktails. It was interesting to see a glass of Robertson Shiraz from South Africa being offered for 35,000 kip when it sells for sells for 95,000 kip for a 2 litre cask in the wine shops!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Directeur général at 3 Nagas Restaurant, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Dear Ctrunfree,

Thank you very much for selecting 3 Nagas restaurant to enjoy your dinning experience; we are glad you had a memorable time with us.

We strive to provide the best service quality of service to our guests, indeed your feedback is exceedingly important.

We well noted your comments about the wine, we are now working on a new wine list to provide and ensure a wild range of wine to our guests in a correct prices.

We hope to have have the chance to welcome you back at 3Nagas restaurant.

Thank you very much,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Nagas Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to 3 Nagas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Nagas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.