We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive place to relax in Luang Prabang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Apsara Rive Droite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Apsara Rive Droite to your Saves list
The Apsara Rive Droite
Ban Phan Louang, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Mystery Gift!
Ranked #8 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Positive place to relax in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Level of the hotel and hotel staff was amazing, owner Ivan whom we saw everyday very pleasant and helpful - gave us a lot of tips in travelling around Laos and in Luang Prabang itself - you wont find this information on tripadvisor. Rive Droit situated on the right bank of the river - which is quiet calm place, to get to the center you just need to cross the river on the hotel boat or you can go by Bamboo pedestrian bridge. This river path add some positive impressions when visiting the center...
Very nice place to relax and spent you best minutes in Luang Prabang. In the Hotel you will find everything from Ipod headphones to cosmetics and anti-moskito bites cream.

Room Tip: Overlooking on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
65
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We spent 5 wonderful days at the Apsara Rive Droite in Luang Prabang. This lovely hotel is located, as its name suggests, on the right bank of the Nam Khan River, directly opposite it's well established sister hotel, the Apsara, which lies on the peninsula.

The peninsula with its many lovely temples, museums and night market is easily reached by hotel boat (5 minutes), on foot over a bamboo bridge (10 minutes), or bicycle (15 minutes). The hotel also offered us a complimentary Tuk Tuk service (15 minutes).

Located just far enough away from the noise and bustle of the town, the hotel is wonderfully peaceful. It has a large salt water pool which is a must, if like us, you are traveling with children. The decor is simple and elegant. The rooms are cool, spacious and very comfortable, particularly the glorious beds. My parents-in-law were particularly impressed by the very bright reading lights next to the beds. The bathrooms all had a large bath and shower. Our rooms all had nice balconies with chairs and a daybed.

The hotel restaurant provided a generous breakfast with plenty of choice - excellent pastries, jams and other options. Wed also had a nice selection of simple dishes for lunch and dinner.

We enjoyed every minute of our time there. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Our excursions were were well organised (at very short notice) and we we were beautifully looked after. We could not recommend the hotel more highly. It is very good value for money.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed at Apsara Rive-Droite for four nights in December over Christmas. It couldn't have been more perfect. The rooms are beautiful with spacious balconies overlooking the peninsula upon which the main part of Luang Prabang is based.
Angelique and others at the front desk are lovely and very helpful with ideas, suggestions and arranging excursions (they arranged a boat for a wondeful trip up the Mekong to see the Pak Ou caves and the hundreds of Buddhas perched on ledges in the caves and a car to the nearby Kwang Si waterfall - great rope swing which our teens loved).
The hotel has a small boat which will take you across the river to the main part of Luang Prabang whenever you want. The ride is about 3 minutes long but gives you a lovely sense of being apart from the more tourist filled downtown. You can also walk or bike across a nearby bamboo bridge (the hotel has bikes to lend).
The food in the hotel restaurant was delicious. (other food recommendations: grilled fish from street vendors on one of the streets leading to the Mekong was absolutely delicious, Tamarind Restaurant has wonderful traditional Lao food and cooking classes, www.tamarindlaos.com, Dyen Sabai also has traditional Lao food is right down the road from Apsara Rive-Droite. It is in a lovely setting with low tables and cushions on decks climbing down the riverside (be warned that service is slow).
In the early morning, you can cross the river to watch the silent procession of Buddhist monks receiving alms but there are a lot of tourists doing the same. Alternatively, you can step right outside the Apsara Rive-Droite and watch the monks from 3 nearby wats walk down and back the road as they receive their gifts of rice from families living along the road.
A particularly nice feature of the hotel is the pool. None of the downtown hotels have pools because it is a historic district. Aside from Apsara Rive-Droite you would have to stay at a hotel much further from town to have a pool. That is what originally drew us to choose Apsara Rive-Droite, but having stayed there and enjoyed the hospitality and beauty of the hotel, I would not stay or recommend anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

A charming hotel with excellent attentive staff with the benefit of being on the other side of the river so the view is exceptional. The boat journey across and the steps down and up were fun and contributed to out fitness!! Hardly any rooms occupied while we were there which meant we could do sites, side trips in mornings and evenings and enjoy the pool and loungers as if it was our private villa in the afternoons. Great breakfast and one of the most comfortable beds on our trip. Highly recommended. Thanks Ivan, Angelique and the team!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed here for a wonderful four nights and left extremely pleased with our hotel choice. The room was spacious and nicely appointed with subtle local touches. My favorite decor detail was the bird cage wallpaper imported from London. Stay here if you wish to be surrounded by beautiful gardens and enjoy a short boat ride across Nam Khan river to reach Luang Prabang--just opposite the other Apsara. Loved the made-to-order breakfast, too. Those with balance issues or trouble climbing stairs may find the bamboo steps to the river challenging, but you can always take a bike or car across a different bridge further on.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Recently opened sister hotel to the Apsara, this was a fantastic base for visiting Luang Prabang. On the far back of the Khan river, access to Luang Prebang takes just 60 seconds on the hotel's own small boat. Alternatively the bamboo bridge is close by.

The Apsara Rive Droite is a sylish and very comfortable boutique hotel offering bed and breakfast, although other meals can be provided. Our upstairs room had a huge bed, modern bathroom and was well furnished. There was also a shaded outdoor space on the verandah. Outside there was a pleasant pool. Breakfast was of a high quality. Service was outstanding.

A gem.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

After several stays at the Apsara in Luang Prabang, I now stayed for the first time at the new(er) Apsara Rive Droite. Just like it's little brother in town, the hotel has a unique style, which is modern, Asian and cosy.

It is a fairly large building with only a few rooms, which sometimes makes it feel a bit empty. But the rooms are great, with very nice views of the riverside, and they are very spacious with nice terraces and sitting areas.

The service was very good, staff is friendly, and there are nice little touches, like the glasses of ice-water served at the pool. Also worth mentioning is the very good breakfast, served at the table (just like in the other Apsara hotel).

The location on the other side of the river was a pleasant surprise for me. While I very much enjoy staying in the old town of Luang Prabang and being able to stroll around throughout the day, it as a welcome experience to stay in the more village-like settings on the opposite riverbank. The area is quiet and feels much more authentic than Luang Prabang itself, which has become overrun by tourists. There is a little boat that brings you across the water, or alternatively there are a few bamboo bridges.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Apsara Rive Droite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara Rive Droite

Address: Ban Phan Louang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamorous rooms, all with their own veranda or terrace. Connected to the town centre by our own boat, the Apsarian Queen, it’s easy to get right into the heart of town. You can spend the morning going to the temples, shopping or just exploring the side lanes and an afternoon in luxurious idleness by the pool. We also have bicycles and our own tuk-tuk available for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Apsara Rive Droite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Rive Droite Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Apsara Rive Droite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.