We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chef makes his mark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Apsara

The Apsara
Baan Wat Sene, Luang Prabang, Laos
856 71 254 670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
St Fillans
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A chef makes his mark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Let me say up front that I am a chef, so I enjoy good food, but am hard to please. This place pleased me ( so much that we ate there twice in three days ). The food shows the mark of a good chef: unusual, well thought through with local ingredients, and well cooked and presented. The slow cooked buffalo cheeks with chilli caramel would grace the best restaurants of London, New York, or Sydney ( or Paris if it tried to join the 21st century ), and all the small and large dishes we tried were excellent. The only slight disappointment was the desserts, which were fine, but not at the imaginative level of the rest of the menu.

I have not eaten in all the good restaurants in Luang Prabang, but I would not be surprised if this is easily the best of them.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    56
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Lao fusion in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We eat dinner and then a lunch over the Christmas holiday. Both times the location, the staff and the food were excellent. It's sited on the Nam Khan river near the confluence with the Mekong in a charming old building, with additional seating across the street from the hotel. It's next door to the also excellent Tamarind restaurant. It's for tourists, not locals, as the price and the wine list attest. The chef has interpreted local cuisines with the western sensibility, and it works very well. I think the high point was the lunch - a simple baguette with pork belly, papaya salad, tomato. It was awesome - I might fly back to Laos just for the sandwich. For four persons for dinner with two bottles of wine, $40/person USD; for a simple lunch, $8/person.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“I look forward to my next visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My high expectations were met but I had had too much lunch to do justice to my excellent dinner. I loved the smoked fish on beetle leaves and the slow cooked buffalo cheeks were all they are cracked up to be. My husband confined himself to the aubergine first course and the wonderful pear dessert which he raved about. Nice wine and those who moan about the price should think what it would cost in Europe, especially rip-off London. Front of house faultless too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food in both halves of the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic 3 course Christmas eve dinner and Lao Set dinner at both the left and right bank restaurants of this hotel respectively.

The food is complemented in each case with a fantastic setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas feast at The Apsara Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our Christmas Eve dinner was an absolute delight: the subtle flavours and textures of each dish made for taste sensations.
Warm, friendly service complimented the understated elegance of the setting.
We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apsara also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Apsara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.