We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas feast at The Apsara Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Apsara

The Apsara
Baan Wat Sene, Luang Prabang, Laos
856 71 254 670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 140 restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas feast at The Apsara Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our Christmas Eve dinner was an absolute delight: the subtle flavours and textures of each dish made for taste sensations.
Warm, friendly service complimented the understated elegance of the setting.
We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    101
    32
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“very classy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Apsara Lao/Western fusion restaurant run by a very friendly Aussie chef from Melbourne and his charming French Canadian wife. Expensive relative to the Khmer run restaurants but worth it if you want an extra special night out. I think dinner for 2 cost around $60

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner at Apsara top value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Top service, top meals, top location. Had dinner twice at Apsara when in Luang Prabang. Very good value. Ford and Janine

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A happy discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We dined at Apsara on our first evening in Luang Prabang, by default, because we couldn't get into the neighbouring Tamarind. This was a happy accident because we had a delicious meal at Apsara, with excellent service & good wine, which in many ways surpassed our experience the following evening at Tamarind, where the menu was longer, but nothing was better than chez Apsara. We hope that the new couple at Apsara (chef & maître d') receive the recognition they deserve. The 'amuse bouche' was a very nice touch. We returned there on our last evening too :))

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic chef doing amazing things in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just had a meal tonight at Apsara, easily our most enjoyable of our four day stay in Luang Prabang.
Truly inviting staff got the night rolling with some sublime cocktails. Can't recommend the lychee and lime daiquiri highly enough.
It was pretty apparent that a lot of thought had gone into each dish on the menu. A fusion of Lao inspired dishes and fresh local ingredients all taken to a higher level with the Chef's personal flare saw us ordering more dishes than we could ever hope to eat just so we could try them. For the starters the smoked fish wrapped in betel leaf was a great introduction to what lay ahead. Great textures combined with a depth of flavour that left you wanting more.
For the mains we tried the yellow pumpkin curry, the pork neck Penang curry and the slow braised buffalo cheek. All were packed with an abundance of flavour and were a delight to eat.
A truly memorable evening enjoyed in an idyllic part of the world.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apsara also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Apsara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.