We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, shame about the staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Moon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mekong Moon Inn to your Saves list
Mekong Moon Inn
Ban Hoxiang, | Between Post Office and Mekong River, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, shame about the staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. At first we were given the wrong room however after showing the receptionist our hotel voucher, we got the room with the balcony we had asked for. The room itself was lovely, spotlessly clean and came with air con, tv, separate shower and two very comfortable beds. Our room also had a nice view of a temple opposite. There was a lockable drawer in the room but no key. When we enquired about the key we were told that the key had been lost ages ago. This was not the answer we were really looking for. We needed to print out some air tickets but the printer had no ink. Once again the response was that he did not know when it would be fixed. Tea and coffee was provided in the lobby, but once again for two days there was no coffee. Our room was not made up on one day, but was on the next. Location wise the hotel is in a great position for the night market and most of the temples. Luang Prabang is so beautiful we decided to stay on for another couple of days, just not at this hotel. Laos is a very relaxed place and some people may say that the lackadaisical attitude of the staff is the norm, however at our new place, just 200 metres down the road, the staff were incredible and could not do enough for us. If the staff could be given a little more training, this place would be wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
22
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Before choosing Mekong Moon, I must have walked through 20 guesthouses of similiar, more expensive (up to $40USD/night) and cheaper. One guesthouse where they were snobby showed me the bathroom with cockroaches in it :( Most other's smelled, but however there were some very good one's in the $20 range, with flat screen tv which separated itself from Mekong Moon.

This is the only guesthouse I have stayed in Luang Prabang. As we stayed for almost 2 weeks, we were able to do 100 000 kip/night. They originally charge about 120, which is still a good deal. I mean $10.

Make sure you get a Balcony room, as they are quite a good size, wifi is nice, cable tv with HBO, a large bathroom and a shower area separates the toilet with the shower (which usually you're showering on top of the toilet!).


It is 100 feet from the mekong, and 100 M from the night market, very well positioned and always staffed. I had never had any security issues.

The boys downstairs will take care of you with bus schedules and laundry at same rates as other facilities around town. Rooms are not cleaned everyday if occupied, however they will if you ask, but the building itself is kept clean, the walls are kept clean unlike other guesthouses.

The mattresses are not sealy posturpedics, however they are quite comfortable and are not the bricks you will find at most other GH's in the area.

Give this guesthouse a chance, and at least go take a look at the rooms. There are only 2 balcony rooms (1 double bed and 2 single beds)

Room Tip: Balcony room, though the room downstairs has a bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. good sized clean rooms for around $16 per night. walk to night markets and mekon river. good coffee shop (saffron) next door does great breakfasts and other meals. Other accom in same area much more expensive and not as clean. a thumbs up for this one.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a double room, it was clean had wi/fi, a/c, tv, fan and hot water bathroom.
It was clean and bright.
The shower was kind of walled of from the rest of the bathroom so when you shower it doesn't spray the whole room which makes a nice change.
Good location, staff were all fine.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

It's in good location, can walk to many interesting places. Room is beautiful and comfortable. If I visit Luang Prabang again, will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyeongju, South Korea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Mekong Moon Inn was amazing - helpful with good English, clean rooms, beautiful yet simple, clean bathrooms and everything at a very reasonable price! The best was definitely the location - 2minutes from the Mekong River, a few minutes from Night Market and Post Office. Good wi-fi, but unfortunately not in the old building, although I picked it up one night for about an hour.
Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room in Old building are quieter, but no wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

A great location in a not-noisy area. This GH locate near morning and night market and Mekong river so you can easily find all difference kind of food and shopping all around. They have 2 building close together. The new building have new decoarted room with wifi but the old building doesn't have wifi spot. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Spend a few more money for the room in new building if you need wifi conected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mekong Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Moon Inn

Address: Ban Hoxiang, | Between Post Office and Mekong River, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mekong Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Moon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.