We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“minor flaws, otherwise great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon Restaurant

Blue Lagoon Restaurant
Ban Choumkong | beside the former Royal Palace or National Museum, Luang Prabang, Laos
856 71 25 36 98
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian, European, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Blue Lagoon Restaurant serve a little of everything. We serve Luang Prabang Speciality, Asian dishes, Pasta and also European food
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“minor flaws, otherwise great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

food is definitely a level better than your usual good restaurant in laos, though this also comes with higher prices. I wished they put a little bit less cream in salmon pasta or curry so the taste of cream is not so dominant. apart from that there's really nothing to complain since food is very good (and so is the service).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    155
    59
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not really international food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

If a restaurant which is rated best at Trip Advisor offers a "Zürcher Geschnetzeltes" it should at least resemble the famous Swiss dish. The taste was o.k. but with the pork meat, the lacking shot of wine in the sauce and the "strange" Rösti it really seemed to be quite some different dish.
And why do they put an egg in the garlic soup? (Something you find quite often in Lao cuisine and which you should know if you have an egg allergy!)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLRL, Manager at Blue Lagoon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dea Sir

Thank you very much of your review

First I have to say, We are swiss. Rösti is a part of our national dish, We really make sure that the Rösti is crispy, even we do not get the potato type for the Rösti here in Laos.

if you could just take your time and read on the Menu what we wrote, it is called Spanish Garlic Soup and one Egg will be added

Your Sincerely

Chef

Your sincerely

Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The food sounds much better that it tastes.

Very bland international style food but the service was good

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLRL, Manager at Blue Lagoon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear mbgandco

I am sorry that the food at the Restaurant is not your taste. Tripadvisor is not a machine to complain, I believe tripadvisor is the place where you could share your experience and also helping the Establishment to improve their Business. If you could mention what you had eaten that would be very helpful for us … I myself do not think that what we serve are all Bland as you said

Your Sincerely

Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
“Gordon Bleu at first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have been there for more than one time and everything was fine. The Staff very helpful, the owner very friendly and the cook a master of his business.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asnières
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is true fusion food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Switzerland, Laos, Italy and a couple of other places for inspiration and wines. Wine list nice and surprising. Service good and helpful. And as the cherry on the cake the cooking chef went to our table for a few minutes. It sounds like a must try in Luang Prabang.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Blue Lagoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.