We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tries to be kind of authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ban Wat Sene, Old Town, Luang Prabang 0, Laos
8562077770484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 140 restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Tries to be kind of authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Tamarind is extremely popular, reservations are a must, but I don't get it.

They seem to be trying to serve authentic food in an inauthentic setting. But it just didn't work. The food was nothing special, the service was poor and the prices high.

If you want real local food, that's available in a local setting for a fraction of the cost. If you want real good food, go next door to Aspara.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    632
    270
    100
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We decided we loved the food in Laos so much that we wanted to take the experience home afterwards. The best way to do that? Learn how to make your own from scratch!
Everything we made was from scratch with Mortar and Pestle and from delicious fresh ingredients, all of which are reasonably readily available.
We cooked dinner for ourselves, and the school added a few extra side dishes.
The restaurant is easy to find, the cooking course isn't located at the restaurant but instead a tuk tuk is provided to take you to the incredible location.
Highly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“like it a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

we stayed in LP for 4 days and tried many restaurants highly rated by Tipadvisor. My favorite restaurant definitely is Tamarind. the dip sampler was very good. fish wrapped in banana leaf was the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Lao food and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Good Lao food at a good price. Staff helpful in navigating menu, which includes some good taster plates.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant for the travelling tourist.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was touring Laos and Cambodia on my own and chose Tamarind whilst I was in Luang Prebang. I popped in on the Thursday and they mentioned their 'group dinner' meal on a Friday. That's what I booked for. On Friday eleven others had booked for this feast, seven from the USA, two from Oz, two more from Canada and me representing the UK. To start a platter of Lao savoury dips, then whole fish marinated in herbs and lemongrass wrapped in banana leaves and season fruits to finish. Everything was explained well as it was served. Good food, good company, what more could one ask for. If I go back to Luang Prebang again, and I hope I will, then Tamarind will be my first point of call.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.