We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite restaurant in Laos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ban Wat Sene, Old Town, Luang Prabang 0, Laos
+856 71 213 128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Laos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

When travelling through Laos we got recommended Tamarind for when we reached Luang Prabang. And how thankful we were for that! The place was amazing! Beautiful setting right on the Nam Khan, staff that spoke perfect english and went as far as talking you through how to eat each meal which was really really good! We tried a little bit of everything, the taste plates and the authentic Laos dishes were delicious! Great value for money, would absolutely recommend this place! Get in early though, the tables fill up really fast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    383
    143
    54
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lao cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I tried Tamarind based on a friend's recommendation. We have had dinner there every night of our five night stay. Wonderful food, good riverside location, sweet service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Taste of Laos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We went here to try the Laos food. We didn't know what to expect and dived in with great curiosity. We ordered the set dinner and absolutely loved it. Buffalo, fish, chicken it was great. The manager was really friendly and had an interesting story to tell. Great place to try the Laos cuisine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Food is great. That is the biggest draw to this restaurant. Try the samplers, fish cooked in banana leaf, and chicken in lemon grass. All awesome dishes, and a great way to sample a bunch of Lao food.

Some of the flavours might be a bit strong for some (ie too much ginger/garlic/spices), but hey you're traveling.. so try new things.

Came here twice during our stay. Service is good, restaurant is located by the mekong, and is very reasonably priced.

Would definitely recommend all visitors to LP to try this restaurant. Make a reservation though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place, a few meals strange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We came here and loved the explanations and service. The dipping appetizer was great and my husband and I enjoyed rolling the sticky rice, but we got pork bbq and vegtables with shrimp dip that we didnt enjoy so much. Oh well. Get the appetizer sampler though for a nice experience and intro to loatian food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindCaroline, Owner at Tamarind, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks, Kimberly. We aim to introduce visitors to the flavours and etiquette of Lao cuisine. Of course we hope everyone will feel the same way we do about the strong flavours, so we're sorry to hear there were a couple of dishes that weren't to your taste. We've tried to choose dishes that will be most palatable to visitors, while at the same time staying true to the cuisine. No easy feat when bitter accents, offal, high spice levels and strong herbal flavours are what the Lao enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.