We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Books, movies and tea. What else do you need?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'etranger Books and Tea

L'etranger Books and Tea
Kitterstrat | ban Aphay, Luang Prabang, Laos
856 71 260 248
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Shopping in Luang Prabang
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small café located in a small wooden house hidden behind trees where great books, tea, shakes & smoothies, good food, the best chai tea and selected movies can be found! Everything you need to feel cozy and homey far away from home.....
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Books, movies and tea. What else do you need?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was looking foward to visit this book shop. The first time, I heard of it in a french canadian's newspaper. I was curious to meet the owners who did such a good job oversea.

I was glad to exchange my old book for another french one. On second floor, they serve tea and we can watch movie for free from 8 to 10.

Lovely place. Lovely mate.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    4
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing place to hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Great place in a beautiful corner of Luang Prabang. This bookshop and bar is next to the Hives Bar. We really much enjoyed the fashion and breakdance show that is on almost every night, that is put together by the owner of the bookshop and hives bar. Amazing how much the owed does for the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Kids chill time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

On stumbling upon this quaint shop and meeting Celine the lovely French Canadian owner we returned the next afternoon to escape the heat, where the children chilled upstairs on the comfy cushions and watch one of the many kids videos that Celine had for them.
It was also a very relaxing afternoon for us, we checked emails and browsed the national geographic books that lined the walls.
Pizzas were great and choice of teas extensive.
Wonderful place to spend a few hours!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Ok for books don´t expect to find many titles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

There are not many bookstores in Lung Prabang I only seen two so if you are looking for some books to buy or exchange this place is ok they also serve coffe on a nice little terrace about the street.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced books, Mediocre employees”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We traded in 2 great, popular, and gently used books and got very little credit. We used this credit towards another book and we also rented a book for an hour. Then we were forced to buy drinks or food to stay and read our rented book here (or then pay 100,000 deposit to take the book outside). Interesting business tactic...

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'etranger Books and Tea also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'etranger Books and Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'etranger Books and Tea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.