We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place overlooking Nam Khan River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dyen Sabai Restaurant

Dyen Sabai Restaurant
Ban Phan Louang | PO BOX 805, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
+856 20 55 104 817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Lovely place overlooking Nam Khan River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

To get to this delightful, dreamy place you cross a narrow bamboo bridge over a tributary of the Mekong River. Up a flight of steps. The restaurant is a series of dining huts build on the hill. Food was very good, reasonable prices and cheerful service. We went twice. On the second visit we had the barbecue - the waiter brings a large clay pot filled with burning charcoal which is placed in the center of the table. An aluminum dish placed on top is filled with soup and you add your vegetables and fish or meat. Delicious and very cheap. Definitely worth going over and romantic too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    137
    37
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service, fabulous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The food here was really nice. So fresh and with subtle flavours. The setting was beautiful. The staff were efficient and polite. It was reasonably priced. What more could you ask for! Definitely worth crossing the bamboo bridge for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious, stylish and attentive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Do cross the bamboo bridge, you will not be deceived. This is a very nicely set restaurant, with abordable prices, very attentive service and great food. And not speaking about the view and the decoration ! We had an excellent lao barbecue here and great cocktails.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

A stroll in the dark over a lit bamboo bridge and we found this delightful riverside venue with low tables and floor seating stepped down the bank of the river. Beautiful low lighting gave the place a great ambience. Superb Lao food - the best sticky rice in Laos - and very reasonable prices

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Unusual and atmospheric setting, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We hadn't planned to eat here at lunchtime, but we decided to go over the Nam Khan on our cycle ride and came across Dyen Sabai, which I had already read about. We only really wanted a light lunch, but they didn't offer snacks, so we went for light meals. The setting is unique - wooden structures built out over the riverbank, just above the Bamboo Bridge. Our choices were chicken with crispy fried mint, and eggplant with pork, both really enjoyable. My wife had a chocolate / mint smoothie which was 'gorgeous'.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyen Sabai Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Dyen Sabai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dyen Sabai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.