We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky yet Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dyen Sabai Restaurant

Dyen Sabai Restaurant
Ban Phan Louang | PO BOX 805, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
+856 20 55 104 817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Avoca Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quirky yet Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This restaurant was not crowded when we visited. on first glance the menu seemed limited. We chose to have a "set" and were pleasantly surprised by the amount, flavours and variety of food we received. We will definitely return here on our next visit. Crossing the river via a local boat was fun and safe, if a bit of an uphill walk once reaching the other side. Should not be a problem unless you have mobility issues.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    137
    37
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“well worth the short boat ride across the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

great spot, great tropical atmosphere and awesome food...and the short boat ride across the Nam Khann actually adds to the experience....night time it looks great with the lights too....would definitely recommend it....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a tranquil setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is reached by boat in wet season and by a bamboo bridge in dry season. We visited in wet season and went by boat which although a bit scary at first was a fun adventure. The guys paddling the boat were hilarious!

When we arrived at the restaurant we were extremely impressed, lots of very intimate seating areas and very attentive staff.

We ordered the chicken fondue, which is great value as it is enough to serve 2 people, included meat, noodles, eggs and veggies and you get to cook it all yourself!

We had a lovely meal and would recommend a trip to Dyen Sabai!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Meals nice but nothing special. I would have been way more satisfied with 10,000 kip noodle soup. Mango daiquiri was quite terrible-unripe mango pureed to custard like texture with too much rum. VERY expensive for basic food. Basically Spent about US$20 on a stir fry, an entree portion of fish and a bad cocktail. Much better options in luang prabang. Dyen sabai needs to drop prices or drastically raise standards.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a rare treat. Once again be able to transcend the mundane and move to the extraordinary. The atmosphere, the food, the staff all lend itself to an exotic extraordinary experience.
Crossing the river you truly feel that you're entering in to something very different.
The lemongrass fish is simply one of the finest fish I've ever had in my life. And the owner Natalie is truly at Jewel and every time I see her she lifts my spirit and makes me smile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyen Sabai Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Dyen Sabai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dyen Sabai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.