We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it, but amansara is better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amantaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Amantaka to your Saves list
Hotel Amantaka
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   55/3 Kingkitsarath Road | Ban Thongchaleun, Luang Prabang 1090, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
tokyo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I liked it, but amansara is better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We did a spring break tour with three days at amansara and three days at amantaka. my advice would be to go to both places, but go to amantaka first as Amansara is so much better. We stayed in the Kahn suite, which was larger than my home in tokyo(almost anyway) and a nice setup for families. A bit sparse on the furnishings, but I suppose that was what the hotel is going for. The hotel is right in the center of town making it great for excusions to the night market or for "feeding" the monks in the morning. The staff was wonderful, and did seem to work hard to make our stay enjoyable. We did the cooking class at the local farm with the head chef, which was a wonderful experience. The boat on the mekong was also a lot of fun. The Lao food for dinner was good. somethings we liked, some we did not, but we ate lao each night. Breakfast was nothing special(we still dream of the pancakes at the Amansara, though). The great thing about the hotel excursions is that you get an opportunity to talk extensively with the local people who lead the tours and get a sense of what their lives are like..The stories from the guide on the boat trip about how much Beetlao he had to buy at his wedding was one of the fond memories we take back from Laos with us. In conclusion let me put it this way I paid $5000 for three days at Amansara and thought it was an increadible bargain, where I paid a bit less for a room three times the size at Amantaka and thought it was a bit steep...Our impression may have been dulled by the fact that the first night we were there the air was virtually unbreathable due to smoke from burning jungles. Obviously not their fault, but it did make in very uncomfortable...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
53
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed two nights at Amantaka, a wonderfully restored set of colonial buildings surrounding a huge open courtyard/garden. My entry-level suite was HUGE, with very high ceilings, a canopy bed, a private (though not 100% inviting) patio, a large sofa, a writing desk and a sprawling bathroom. At least three windows in the bathroom faced the windows of my neighbor's bathroom, however, which was a little bit of an issue since there were no shades of any kind. But all in all, the room was airy and contemporary, with a strong sense of place and an eye for comfort.

We had dinner both nights in the hotel restaurant, and it's a real bargain ($35 for several courses, as of Nov. 2009). I loved the Lao dishes, with their complex and aromatic flavors. Breakfast too was delightful, with excellent Lao and Western offerings. Perhaps because the hotel had opened relatively recently, the service during meals was rather sloppy, though unfailingly friendly.

We could walk from Amantaka to the beginning of the fantastic night market in about five minutes, and it was another minute or two until you were in the heart of the historic center - a great location. During the day, it is possible to hear noise from a school across the street, but at night it's perfectly quiet.

The central courtyard is magical at night, lit up with dozens of lanterns, but during the day it feels a little sparse - the gardens need just a little time to grow in. Should you not have your own private pool, the main pool is a delightful chlorine-free alternative.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Amantaka. The incredibly friendly staff made us always feel at home, the accommodations were quite comfortable, and Luang Prabang was an absolute joy to visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

If you want to get lost in time, head to Luang Prabang. If you want to lap up in luxury, Amantaka is THE destination.

Amanresorts has a knack for picking the most exotic destinations to house their properties. And in recent months, they have opened not one but three new Amanresorts. One of which is Amantaka, situated in the heart of Luang Prabang.

A former provincial hospital, Amantaka is beautifully restored, retaining its original French colonial architecture. And on its sprawling grounds are 24 gorgeous suites (I was lucky enough to stay in the oversized Mekong Pool Suite), a library where evening cocktails are served (love the iced bael fruit tea), a spa (must try their signature massage… pure bliss), a fully equipped gym (cold towels, bottled water and fresh fruits while you work out) and an inviting swimming pool big enough for doing laps. Oh yes, don’t be surprised if you are served complimentary ice cream while you bask in the sun. The staff at Amanresorts really know how to spoil guests with their intuitive service!

I’ve stayed at a few Aman properties, and I must say Amantaka is one of my favorites. It’s an oasis of calm, nostalgia and romance – an extraordinary experience not to be missed. Amantaka has definitely elevated Luang Prabang’s hip status like what Amankora has done for Bhutan, and Amangalla and Amanwella for Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Having just spent three nights at Amantaka, the hotel is clearly the finest property in the area by far. The local staff is so friendly, so kind and just wonderful. This new hotel has everything to make your visit to the area worhtwhile. The rooms are just beautiful, and the common areas elegant and useable. The only problem is with management which is just not efficient (except for kitchen staff who could not be nicer). You would think that Aman would send more competent people to run a new property. We were not explained our package in full, nor given a proper tour of the property. Otherwise, it is an amazing property, which would make your stay in the area even more magical. I am sure the bugs will be worked out shortly...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

The hotel and location are just amazing. While I am sure it will change over time, the town is so peaceful and the people so nice. The hotel is an Aman and live up to its reputation. If your not happy here, nothing will make you happy.

I would suggest the feeding of the monks as a must do while your there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

This is typical Aman resort with great service, sublime luxury, full gym and spa. Opened in Sept 2009 and it centrally located to main town.

Negative is that their meals are expensive and below average - its better to go to outside restaurants like Tamarand. Also major attitude against non guests. I had friends visiting and their security put them through third degree. Also as is Aman standard, no TV or internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We loved our rooms here, and the facility is incredible. We received an upgrade in advance of our stay, and were treated wonderfully by the staff. Unfortunately, they almost seem to be trying too hard, and it can get a little slow at mealtimes, especially at breakfast. Although we had more than our fair share of small disappointments, it must be said that the managers always made sure that we received free special treats like a complementary sunset cruise, and a dance recital at a special dinner poolside.
The Laotian people were wonderful to us throughout our stay, and the property is perfectly situated. Take the cooking class with the hotel's chef, and travel the local market with him. Take a trip up to see the country homes of the Hmong villagers, too. We also loved the river trip up to the Pak Ou caves in their spectacular Mekong motor yacht. Feel free to email us if you have specific questions about our experiences there.
All in all, great spot, just should have still been charging "soft opening" rates for a while longer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amantaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amantaka

Address: 55/3 Kingkitsarath Road | Ban Thongchaleun, Luang Prabang 1090, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amantaka 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Amantaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amantaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.