We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amantaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Amantaka to your Saves list
Hotel Amantaka
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   55/3 Kingkitsarath Road | Ban Thongchaleun, Luang Prabang 1090, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Luang Prabang itself is a wonderful town, and Amantaka is a beautiful, tranquil oasis to retire to after a day of exploring.

Service is full of nice touches like cool drinks and snacks set out in the afternoon, and local musicians playing traditional music at meal times (food was excellent, too, particularly the Laos menu). Often cool drinks etc were offered without us having to ask. We were given champagne and roses for our honeymoon. Absolutely loved the decor, our suite was immaculate.

Would highly recommend any of the day trips on offer, on all three we booked they went above and beyond to make it special. This is not a cheap place to stay, but we felt it was worth it. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
53
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

After saying good buy Vientaine, Luang Prabang was an excellent top off to a very pleasant place Hotel Amantaka. Sightseeing was like a diamond in the rough. Definitely built and maintained according to high Western standards, this hotel was one of nicest one in our Laos trip. If you're taking a junk cruise along Mekong river you will see it by side.
Three night in Luang Prabang was not enough to us when staying at one of the best hotels in the town. If you can afford a bit of luxury this is the only place to stay. The food was great, and the hotel amenity was modern. The swimming pool is an excellent backup. The restaurant served up some wonderful meals too. A marvelous end to a wonderful vacation with travel to Laos.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend in June for our 25th wedding anniversary - Khan Pool suite. Very peaceful, great grounds, especially as there are only 24 rooms, but very convenient for the town. Wonderful room and great service. The special Laotian dinner for our anniversary was superb. If you stay, go on the half day boat trip on the Mekong River in one of the Aman boats. They have adapted a boat that can accommodate 30+ tourists to have a sofa area, a day bed and a dining area and, in our case, just two passengers (the maximum would be 10). It is a private hire so you so not share with strangers. Tourists in other boats were taking photographs of it. Very special indeed.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Large, beautiful/luxurious rooms, superb service, great restaurant, in excellent location. But at an extremely high price!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I stayed in Suite 24, the Khan Suite with a private pool. It’s the same suite that was featured in the Condé Nast Traveller review. At the time of my stay, there were only 4 guests and 120 staff working. The service was impeccable, staffs are always there when you need them but never too intrusive. The library is the best area to relax while they serve you afternoon tea. The rooms are simple, spacious, yet functional. The property is located near a busy junction nearby the town and night market but once you are in the compound of Amantaka, it’s like a world of its own with light traditional music played by a group of locals. This is the only hotel in town that has an equipped fitness center with Bose sound system.

The staff really went all the way to fulfill our bizarre request, to setup a home theater system by the pool. We want to watch our favorite DVD while dipping in the pool during midnight! However, they do not serve popcorn and did not offer any alternative snacks :( . While the food in the restaurant is not top notch in Luang Prabang, their service is the best by far.

The only annoyance is that the property is right under the flight path and the property lacked the view of the mighty Mekong River. Despite some shortcomings, I think Amantaka has lived up to the Aman Experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a local rate, they might give a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfiled, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel and this is our second time at this place over the past 2 years. The manager Gary runs a tight show and and the great management style shows in how well the staff anticipate your needs and take care of them. The chef is spectacular and was able to handle our vegan diet requirements with aplomb. We stayed in suite 11 which is spacious and well decorated. We feel that this hotel is so well run that we will stay here every time we visit Luang Prabang. Gary and Fillippe and the staff, thank you all for making our trip and stay memorable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Upon arrival at the Luang Prabang airport, we were met by the wonderful driver from Amantaka and arrived at the hotel in minutes. We were met by the general manager (nice gentleman-can't recall his name) given a welcome drink and presented us with our itinerary. We felt immediately at home, and were then shown our gorgeous pool suite! Awesome. Shortly after, we participated in a Baci ceremony, which I highly recommend. We also were taken on the Mekong river tour which was unforgettable,gave rice to the passing monks in the morning, and they also arranged a trip to the waterfalls with an amazing picnic. We also had a lovely Lao massage at the spa there. The food was great, the drinks were great, the staff was great. I would love to go back. I fell in love with Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amantaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amantaka

Address: 55/3 Kingkitsarath Road | Ban Thongchaleun, Luang Prabang 1090, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amantaka 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Amantaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amantaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.