We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sok Dee Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sokdee Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sokdee Residence to your Saves list
Sokdee Residence
Ban Vat Nong, Khounsawa Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sok Dee Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This review is for Sok Dee Guesthouse not Sok Dee Residence.
The associated guesthouse was one of the best places we have stayed in. It cost 100,00KIP, which was a bargain considering how big our room was and how nice it was. Floor and walls covered in beautiful dark timber, it felt v.luxuorious. A word of caution tho, the bedrooms great, but bathroom was basic and a bit run down.
No breakfast was included but this guesthouse was about 2 min walk from the Mekong which has lots of places to eat. The best ever omlette can be found at "Big Tree Cafe", this place was literally amazing!!! Altough a short walk from most sites this guesthouse was tucked down a tiny lane which meant that it was very quiet and peaceful.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask the lady on reception for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
20
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pokolbin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

Read about this guesthouse on trip advisor and after looking at prices online figured it was better to arrive unannounced. This turned out well as the rooms were online at $32-45US which we negotiated down to $24US (200,000 Kip). We stayed 5 nights.

We stayed in an upper level room. The room was quite nice with timber floors, a comfy bed and good bathroom. The balcony was nice to chill out on as the afternoon rains came down.

Located just around the corner (2 min walk) from the main drag which is full of great restaurants (eat at "The Pizza" and "coconut garden"!!).

The only negative we had was the wifi is very unreliable. They have two networks, one for each building (old and new), the new one was hopeless and the old one had very week signal so it would take a laos lifetime to load. If you need reliable web....don't come to Laos hahaha!!

Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Quiet place; on the main street but away from the busy tourist part. Nice view of a gorgeous little wat from the front balcony. It was great to see the procession of monks early in the morning. But if you want to sleep the whole morning then the early morning procession might be a bit of a bother.
Staff is friendly. The rooms are small a bit packed with things but comfortable. Elegant and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This place is very quiet so if that's what you are looking for, you've found it. The owner doubled as a tour guide to the Pak Ou caves, hmong village and Kuang Si Falls. He was very knowledgeable and found a great place for lunch that only the locals knew about.

The rooms were fairly large and very clean. I had a little problem with the shower door so the floor got wet every time I used it. They advertised WIFI but it never worked. There are plenty of cheap internet cafes nearby so it wasn't any big deal. The teak floors were beautiful.

The breakfast could have been a little more filling considering the activities I engaged in but it was adequate. What more than made up for the breakfast was the delicious coffee. I bought a kilo of it but was unable to duplicate the creamy texture when I got home.

All in all, I would recommend this place to others but if you book here, do it on line. I didn't and paid an extra $7 per night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night in August 2010 whilst travelling through Loas, before moving onto Vang Vieng. Paid approx $10 for a twin room - comfortable with air conditioning. Good value and great location.

Staff not very friendly, but "a rooms a room" - there is free wifi, but be prepared to search around for it!

Recommend the evening market in Louang Prabang which was fantastic for good and food :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Sokdee has a lovely street-facing hotel, and a much simpler guesthouse in an adjacent building. The rooms in the guesthouse are basic and without charm, but cheap ($10) and clean. The folks at the desk are helpful and laundry is dependable. The place is good for a flop, but after one night, I decided to spring for a more charming guesthouse a few blocks away -- paying double, but enjoying it more.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We were very disappointed with the Sokdee Residence as the reviews we had read were good.
On arrival we noticed the bathroom was unclean, there was a brown splatter on the wall which looked like blood. On reporting this I was told that the cleaner had gone home and that this would be dealt with the following day.- which was not unreasonable. However, it never was dealt with and we stayed for a week. The shower itself had a leak which was cobbled together with a piece of insulating tape.
To say the place was dirty would be an exaggeration, more a case of 'uncared for'. For instance, there is one table between the single beds. The previous room occupants had put the twin beds together and the table removed to a corner. As there was only one reading light we had to rearrange the beds and table ourselves, in so doing it was obvious the floor was dusty and had been cleaned around. On our last day the room wasn't serviced at all.
Breakfast is basic and fine. One morning we were the second occupants at a table which had egg yolk and food left behind. This was 'wiped' with a piece of towel hanging up on the side wall.
The duvets were not in fact duvets but childrens sleeping bags in duvet covers, strange and not to be expected in a hotel.
It seems to be a family run business but they appeared distant, disinterested and, frankly, unfriendly. The only time any interest was taken was when there seemed to be an opportunity to make money. We asked how much they would charge for a private car to the Plain of Jars. They asked for $300 but we got the same deal in town for $200.
The business owns the adjacent Guest House and the impression we had was that both are being treated in the same way. It seems to us that to charge hotel prices for the Residence they should clean the place up, do some maintainance work and care for the guests in a professional manner
These shortcomings are a great shame as the location is great and the basics are there for it to be a lovely place.
There is a lot of competition for tourist trade in Luang Prabang and there is other good accommodation in the same road - so if I was you I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sokdee Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokdee Residence

Address: Ban Vat Nong, Khounsawa Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sokdee Residence is a beautiful traditional Lao style building - superbly located in the heart of the old town of Luang Prabang.With a choice of double or twin beds the Sokdee Residence features just 8 guest rooms which are all pleasantly presented, comfortable and exceptionally clean. All Guest rooms offer modern amenities such as air-conditioning, cable television, fridge and mini bar as well as a private bathroom. The simple yet sophisticated style of dark wood and Lao decorations create a pleasant environment. All guest rooms open up to a communal balcony on which guests can take in Luang Prabangs city life, meet other travelers or just lean back and read a book. The comfortable furniture and the ambient surroundings invite the guest to stay and simply relax.Located in the center of Luang Prabang, the Sokdee Residence is just a stroll away from the delightful Mekong River as well as the main street with its bustling Night Market. Perfect to enjoy a walk through the charming city - along the Riverfront and past by some of Luang Prabangs ancient temples. Numberous restaurants, cafes and shopping options are nearby. The citys attractions and sights can easily be explored by foot or bike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sokdee Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokdee Residence Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sokdee Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.