We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive hotel in good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The View Pavilion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The View Pavilion to your Saves list
The View Pavilion
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Sakkarine road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unimpressive hotel in good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location on the quiet end of the main street is excellent, neighbouring a good french-style cafe and decent massage/spa place. The deluxe rooms on the top floor have a nice mountain view.
Otherwise there is not much positive to say about this place. The owner clearly knows very little about hotel design and management. The lower level staff are friendly and do their best, but the management staff is not very service minded.
The wifi router is placed in the owners house neighbouring the hotel, so the signal is weak at best.
Overall the hotel is terribly overpriced, especially if you don't get a deluxe room. There are far better options nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Quiet location however in walking distance to the little center of LP. We stayed on 2nd floor, room is nice but nothing special. The bathtub in the room is ridiculous, would be better to have more space or even better 2 more chairs and a small table. Only one reading lamp on bedside table which is definitely a big minus.
The shower is Asian style, has no tub and the drainage didn't work properly, after 3 minutes, the whole bathroom was under water. Hand-shower wasn't working, only the rain-shower. Breakfast was poor, right next door is one of the best cafes in LP, better go there. No bicycles on offer.
Nevertheless with all the downsides, I liked the balcony with the comfy chairs, great view over the mountain range, could sit there for hours and relax. One day before we left, the hotel below re-opened and their ACs are noisy and can be disturbing if sleeping with open windows.

Room Tip: 2nd floor - to enjoy the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days over New Year - and overall, really enjoyed it.

The location is convenient, down at the quieter end of the main tourist street, opposite two beautiful wats.

The room: came here directly from the Santi Resort and although it's definitely a couple of notches below the Santi in terms of comfort it's more than adequate. The layout of the room is a bit silly though with an enormous bath tub in the bedroom - wonder how many people really use it? Beds are very hard too. We were downstairs and had a nice little terrace outside the room.

The young staff were friendly and although they don't all have great English they were definitely trying hard to please. Nice little touches like evening snacks and water refills and the cute towel arranging thing that others have mentioned here.

Breakfast is on the balcony of the front building overlooking the street - no big buffet here but you can choose from a simple menu - chicken noodle soup and banana pancakes both good, the coffee and orange 'juice' less so!

For $90 a night (in high season) we thought it was pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The View Pavilion is at the far end of the peninsula on Sakkarine Road, within easy walking distance of the main shopping and eating areas, but far enough removed to be quiet and relaxing. We loved walking back to hotel at the end of the evening, knowing that we would find peace and quiet. The rooms are very clean and well maintained, with firm beds and adequate storage for clothes. The young staff were very friendly and engaging, although it was a struggle for some to express themselves clearly in english. It took patience to have a long conversation. The breakfast choice was somewhat limited, but it was so enjoyable eating on the balcony overlooking the street and the temples. The balcony is also a good place to watch the almsgiving ceremony that takes place every morning just across the street. The wi-fi was generally good although inconsistent (as in other parts of Laos). As others have noted, the bathroom floor does get wet when you use the shower, but - to us- this was a minor factor and no great inconvenience. Overall, we were very happy that we stayed in the View Pavilion - even though we were on the lower level so did not have the mountain view.

Room Tip: The four rooms on the upper level have the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel on a main but essentially quiet street, pleasant staff on duty at reception, sited at the rear; their English was limited but they were very willing. I did have the feeling that school leavers were ‘playing’ at running a hotel.

The garden is small but well kept with attractive flower arrangements, small trees and plants.

Our ground floor was approached by six fairly steep steps. Access is via a small verandah there are two heavy chairs (with cushions) and a coffee table, these were heavy to move and I had a bad foot so need to put it up a lot!
The only real ‘view’ from this floor is of the neighbouring Chang Guesthouse roofs, which was being renovated at the time so they started before 7am and finished later sometimes evening, so trying to relax after a busy day out was out of the question.

Our bedrooom was clean and was arranged but a little impractical. The fairly large space is dominated by a very large Jacuzzi-style bath,
Each morning, these are artistically folded and presented on the large twin beds, which are firm but very comfortable and with good quality linen, duvet and pillows. As we find so often in Asia, although there are several pieces of new teak furniture, storage and wardrobe space is limited, and there are no drawers. There is a coat stand (most useful), chair, fridge, kettle and complimentary beverages, and hunting for a convenient electric point can be amusing. After some time the staff was able to establish the complimentary and sometimes reluctant wifi connection.

Unbelievably, the toilet contains a modern rain and hand-held shower; there is no cubicle — just a plastic curtain to prevent water splashing the WC! Which soaks everywhere and using if afterwards was a mean feet, Inside the bedroom there is a modern and attractive basin on teak base, with good plumbing — the hot water supply needs much patience and waste of a precious resource, and the pressure is limited.

The hotel is quiet, although at around 4 in the morning, discreet temple bells and drums can be heard. Some afternoons at around 5, there is also a small ‘school’ for Laotian folk music and dancing just above the reception, but we were not warned so was quite noisy at times!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here last time I came to Luang Prabang and was happy to return on my latest trip. The rooms are clean, modern and serviceable. The beds are however, very firm and so are the pillows. I find that after a week or so, I'm looking forward to my own not-so-firm bed! The view in the name is across roofs and tree tops towards the Nam Khan, but the outlook to the mountains is delightful – ask for one of the Mountain View Rooms, which are on the upper floor and have private balconies. There's free WiFi which is quite reliable and reasonably fast. Located in a quiet spot in the old part of town, along the ‘main’ road (Sisavangvong/Sakkaline) it's only a modest walk to where all the shops and restaurants are and, of course, the night markets. We stayed once before down by the river and, especially in peak season, it can be very noisy there at night.

There are only eight rooms and the staff are great, always happy to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is comfortable. Every morning, the housekeeping staff fold the fresh towels into clever arrangements – lotus flowers, swans, elephants – it’s fun to return to the room each day and discover the latest surprise! Every evening, at turndown, a snack (usually local sweet food) was left for me and this was a much appreciated gesture (and delicious too!) Breakfast is usually included in the tariff and while it’s basic it’s perfectly adequate and taken on the balcony, looking over to the temples across the road. We have found it to be good value and we’ll stay there again when we return to Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room - the tariff is marginally higher but it's worth it for the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Well-located at the main street, in a walking distance to the main attractions. Its location is very convenient to see the almsgiving ceremony at 6AM. It happens just across the street. We've got a nice, large, clean room on the second floor with a balcony facing backwards. The bathtub inside the room was a plus. The breakfast was so so, but there is a very nice French bakery/café just beside the hotel which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Tip: try to book a room on the 2nd floor to enjoy more privacy and a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The View Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Pavilion

Address: Sakkarine road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The View Pavilion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View Pavilion is a small boutique hotel ideally located in the Easthern penninsula area of Luang Prabang which is closed to all beautiful temples,Khan and Mekong river, night market and business center. The peaceful surroundings plus the scenic views of Mountains and Khan river from the private balcony and the restaurant of The View Pavilion are the most outstanding . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The View Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The View Pavilion Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The View Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.