We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guesthouse with a very friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Manichan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Guesthouse Manichan to your Saves list
Guesthouse Manichan
Ban Pakham, Unit 4/143, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 230 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful guesthouse with a very friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Manichan guesthouse is an ideal place to discover the pleasures of Luang Prabang: centrally located (right in the middle of the morning market), excellent service, delicious breakfast and a very warm and welcoming atmosphere! If we ever come back to Luang Prabang, we will certainly ask Manichan and Peter first if they have any vacancies!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    73
    17
    13
    1
See reviews for
35
138
82
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed only 2 nights 3 days in LP. Thanks to Manichan and its staff, we could maximize our experiences of this town and people. We cannot expect more kindness and welcomeness from the staff and owner of Manichan. I suppose because of this, this place attracts all the good tourists. We met most of the guests during our stay period, usually during breakfast, and found all very interesting, relaxed, and content.

The breakfast is very nice and sufficient. Eggs any style, good bread, home made jam and honey, fresh fruits. Good coffee and tea all day long. All from good ingredients available here. No bacon, or ham that are not from here. Yes beer was nice in the afternoon.

Guesthouse Manichan is clean everywhere. I am particularly keen on the bad smell and found this place very acceptable. We stayed in a shared bath room. I heard that private bath room had some smell issuess,

I must repeat that staff is truly excellent. The location is just fine as LP is tiny. No river view here although it is located 1 block from the river. I find, after visiting LP, views from your room in LP are irrelevant. However, we had very beautiful view of sunrise over the temple on the hill from veranda. Morning and night markets are right there.

Speaking of food, bread and pastries are just fine. No need to go to special places for these. I would avoid fish. 3 Nagas has decent dishes in nice atmosphere. Tamarind is one timer place, and over priced for what it is. I think traditional Laotian food can be better with a little bit of twist. We had delicious curries on the same street, at a hole in the wall place for lunch. I would avoid wine bars. Stick to beer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Staying at this guesthouse in Luang Prabang felt like a homestay in a new house with a great family. Peter and his family keep the business running smoothly with clean rooms, free filtered water, tea and coffee, great service, and an extended family feel. The location is great--just a few steps from the morning market, a few more to the night bazaar, a block in the other direction to the Mekong...I was very satisfied with this guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Guesthouse Manichan is a small B&B located in the center of Luang Prabang's old city, only a few blocks from the Royal Museum/Phousi Hill, the night market, and the Mekong. Peter is a very gracious host who is genuinely there to help. He gave us very useful guidance on rates to negotiate with the tuk tuks, watched over our belongings when we were away on an overnight trek, and did not push any tours.

Breakfast is amazing. I found out later that Peter is an ex-chef, which helps explain the extraordinary morning meals you will have here. From omelettes with basil and tomato to well adorned fruit plates with hand-squeezed fresh juices, a leisurely breakfast in conversation with the other guests and staff was a highlight of our day. The coffee was also top-notch!

Room was comfortable, with high ceilings, good bed, water pressure, ample hot water, etc. Air-con worked like a champ. wifi was a bit slow, but that's the case almost everywhere in LP. It was a little noisy one night (party a few blocks away), but not too bad and it wound down around midnight.

We talked to many people in LP who were paying similar prices, and none of them had as good an experience as we did at Manichan. I would wholeheartedly recommend Manichan to friends and family that visit Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Central location, exceedingly clean rooms with comfortable beds. Lovely family who attract lovely guests and who provide solid local advice. If you're looking for a guesthouse, you can't go wrong with Manichan. On a stroll I met a fellow traveller who remarked his guesthouse was a bit loud (think young backpacker party environment) and I invited him to join me for breakfast at Manichan. After enjoying a great meal and engaging conversation with guests from around the world, he thanks me for inviting him and inquired about availability...so think of that as "evidence" of my recommendation ;)

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We loved the breakfasts here, and lingered over them to swap stories with other guests. Rooms are nice; wifi works (as best it does in L-P); staff went out of their way to be helpful. But? A neighbor had died a few days before and his large extended family were having a prolonged wake immediately next door! They started around 7pm and partied until dawn each night. Manichan staff apologized and offered earplugs but there wasn't anything they could do. However, for all of us, getting the explanation made the noise easier to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We had a different experience at Manichan Guesthouse to other reviewers, and were quite disappointed.

We paid $25 for our room with ensuite, which I booked by email. Perhaps the walk-in rate is $18 as quoted by others. For this price we got an extremely smelly bathroom - we could not even leave the door open a crack without the smell escaping. We had to remove the paintings from the walls as the fan (which only pointed in one direction) made them constantly rattle. And our room was never serviced (which for $25/night I felt it should have been), meaning we had to request toilet paper when we ran out.

On the upside the staff seemed lovely, which is probably the reason behind the good reviews.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manichanguesthouse, Owner-manager at Guesthouse Manichan, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
Our room rate of 25$ for our rooms with ensuite bathroom includes the Breakfast buffet for 2 persons, just like we agreed in the e-mail. The room rate of 18 $ for walk-in guests is without the BB.
A smell in the bathroom has never been detected by ourselves, neither been reported by any other guest and also not by this guest during her 4 night-stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Manichan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Manichan

Address: Ban Pakham, Unit 4/143, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial style house (once a hospital) in the middle of the UNESCO World Heritage section of Luang Prabang. Lovely garden and balcony where you can relax and swap stories with fellow guests. We are just 30 meters from the Mekong River and morning market and 130 meters from the Royal Palace Museum and Night Market. Famous breakfast and lots of helpful advice. It's our goal to make your stay relaxing and stress free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse Manichan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Manichan Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Manichan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.