We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this in Luang Prabang” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Ban Hua Xieng, Sisavangvong Road, Luang Prabang, Laos (Formerly New Daraphet Villa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Avoid this in Luang Prabang”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel states that it has wifi in every room. While this may be true, none are actually connected to the Internet. We stayed here for 3 nights and only on the day checking out was the wifi up (it worked elsewhere in Luang Prabang). The front desk did nothing to try to fix the problem or seem to care about it.

The room cleanliness was appalling. One of my friends found a pubic hair in their bed which clearly had not been cleaned. Check out was at noon and when we came to our room at 11am to find them cleaning the room despite us not checking out yet. I really suspect if they will come back to clean the room after we showered. There is also a distinct lack of towels in the rooms.

The bed was awful. The mattress was fine but the bed frame on both beds (room C4) was squeaky beyond belief and made for a very uncomfortable and restless sleep!!


Breakfast is lacking and definitely not recommended unless it is included in your room rate ( and perhaps not even then).

The hotel had a good location though.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    106
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
12
28
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed at New Daraphet recently, but have to say was a little disappointed. The staff not very helpful, the room we had was very small and the bathroom was so small that when you had a shower the toilet would get drenched. Our bedside light broke hanging off the wall with wires, but when we told the staff they seemed to have no regard at all and it wasn't fixed while we were there. The breakfasts were very average and when they ran out of butter or bread, too bad, because there was no more. The location was really good which is probably the best thing about this place. There seemed to be so many beautiful places to stay in this beautiful city and if it was me I would even pay more to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The deluxe rooms are ok but the standard rooms are tiny dark and ours was a bit smelly. We had to change rooms twice because of noise and smell. Breakfast was awful. But the deluxe rooms are quite nice and the location next to Joma's cafe is ok given how expensive the other end of town can be. Proximity to night market also good and I have to say the manager did try to look after us.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011 via mobile

This place is not recommended as there is no hot water. However, this is a good thing as there are no towels! Breakfast is for locals only so best to go out instead. Only positive is a good location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Spent 2 nights in the F Block which was quiet and the rooms were huge there. The Asian selection for breakfast was of good standard and the western style scrambled eggs were just right. I think it is from the same kitchen as the BLVD restaurant in the same compound. The hotel location is good to start exploring Luang Prabang, which is right behind JOMA cafe and around the corner from the post office, near the cross junction of the tourist office and the Hmong market. However I question the need to board up the windows in the bathroom and bedroom, a Bright room is better than dark. The staff were friendly and helpful in pointing out the sights of LP. They also have internet PCs and dongles for the laptops in the lobby which will shut by midnight. The front desk also has a fridge stocked with coke and Beer Lao. Just in case. Overall, a good place to start exploring Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermagui, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is very centrally located and close to the river, markets and restaurants. The rooms were dark and very small. The bathroom was small, cramped and not very clean, and the towels were very thin/threadbare. The included breakfast had a very limited selection, stale bread and lousy coffee. To be positive the day spa massage was one of the best we had in our month long trip in Indochina. We moved to another hotel after a couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack Tri-Lakes, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The pluses are that this hotel is very centrally located and had free wifi in the lobby and 2 computers for general use. On first blush, it looks great, but it has problems. Due to a leak in the room above which couldn't be readily fixed, we stayed in two different rooms during our 3 nights here. There were plumbing issues in both (leaks and only intermittent hot water), the safes didn't work in either, and both had a moldy odor probably due to water damage which was evident around the windows. Others in a group reported the same problems. Apparently there was only a limited number of towels since we had to wait until late afternoon for them to be replaced. The included breakfast was the worst served in the nine hotels we stayed at during our tour - limited selection, stale bread and lousy coffee. You can do better!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel

Address: Ban Hua Xieng, Sisavangvong Road, Luang Prabang, Laos (Formerly New Daraphet Villa)
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official UNESCO protected site and built in authentic traditional Lao style, MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel is located right in the middle of the city. Featuring one of the best rooms in the area, MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel adds a twist to boutique hotels with its spread of fauna, as well as a generously spaced balcony terrace. Be awed with the view of the Mekong River nearby as we pamper you with our Lao Hospitality and a selection of fine foods at our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Daraphet Villa Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MyLaoHome Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.