We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to get away from the norm in Luang Prabang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Riverview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mekong Riverview Hotel to your Saves list
Mekong Riverview Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Asia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you want to get away from the norm in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

In a town rife with cookie-cutter restaurants and accommodations, the Mekong River View is truly an anomaly, setting a standard for boutique quality that would distinguish it in even the most developed locations. Heavy hard wood graces everything in private enclaves that have the feel of luxurious colonial townhouses. The breakfast inclusive in a night’s stay was the best Western cuisine I had during my trip to Laos. This is also THE prime location on the peninsula, tucked away from the bustle of the north but still walking distance from everything, and of course, the Mekong River always in sight to set the mind at ease.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    71
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
66
293
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southernerwander
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I rarely find anything which exceeds my high expectations. This hotel did. There is not a better location anywhere in Luang Prabang. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect. The hotel is one of a kind.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for four nights and loved it.

It is a small, boutique hotel in an ideal, quiet location. The owner (Urban) and Manager (Daniel) offer a highly personal service and are committed to ensuring that guests have a wonderful stay in Luang Prabang.

All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The quiet location provides a lovely tranquil atmosphere, and the low density of the rooms (I think there are only 12) means that it is generally always quiet, yet cosy enough to get to know other travellers.

The service is exceptional. So much so that I bought a Buddha statue on the last day of our trip and Daniel made a follow up visit to the shop, just to make sure they had sent it by freight as promised. He even sent me a copy of the Courier Company consignment note by email after we had left.

It's the sort of service and dedication to ensuring you have a truly enjoyable experience while on holiday that's rare to find elsewhere.

I can definitely recommend the Mekong Riverview to anyone that wants a good comfortable stay in Luang Prabang, with excellent service, and not to mention a nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

You won't be disappointed if you stay at this hotel.
The staff and owner are exceedingly friendly.
The owner, Urban, invited all the guests for wine one evening in the reception area. Very nice touch.
Breakfasts are delicious. Location is great.
Beds very comfortable. Nice sitting area outside bedroom.
(Toilet area really small, so might not be a good place for very large people.)
I'd likely stay here again if I were to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

The Mekong Riverview is a five star hotel in every sense; location, views, lavish rooms, exceptional staff, attention to detail like you would not believe. We stayed there only a short time, but it rates among the most high quality places we have ever slept the night. We give it our highest recommendation and would encourage you to consider this place for a luxury holiday in the beautiful Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

A trip to Laos and to Luang Prabang should be one of your destination spots. Our daughter opened our eyes to the quaintness of this community. As you walk through the city you see beautiful shutters on windows and doors, the fingermarks of the French background. The community is a quiet, restful town that has a night market with beautiful handmade items. The hotel is located at the junction of the Mekong and the Khan Rivers which gives it a very picturesque view. It is next to the infamous Wat Xieng Thong Temple and since there are more than 30 temples in this small town the morning ritual for the giving of alms to the Monks is a memorable sight.
Relax and enjoy the community by staying at the Mekong RiverView Hotel who offers a beautiful breakfast, a mini-bar with refreshing beverages, Swedish beds and a view that is endless.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Excellent location with great views which are only going to get better with the plans the owners have. Daniel and his team were great very helpful and had loads of advice and tips about Luang Prabang. The rooms are good size with lovely teak wood everywhere which provided deep dark tones to the accomodation. The welcome drinks with Urban the owner were a great ice breaker and introduced you to staff and other guests. Small be more than addequate breakfast area. Very close to town and if you felt lazy a lift on the golf cart was an amusing way to get down to the bank or a resturant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Riverview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.