We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home in LP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Riverview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mekong Riverview Hotel to your Saves list
Mekong Riverview Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
539 helpful votes 539 helpful votes
“Our home away from home in LP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

It's hard to know where to start extolling the virtues of this hotel.

On arrival we were greeted as we poured out of our dusty minivan by several of the hotel staff. They addressed us by name. We were welcomed in the lobby and given a full briefing of the hotel and the town before being shown our lovely room.

The property is new and designed in French colonial style. The rooms are of generous size with a patio or balcony with characteristic overhanging roof. Every detail has been thought of. There are electric beds with adjustable upper and lower parts. There's a large bar fridge-style minibar with complimentary soft drinks and water. The safe is oversized. The air con is quiet and effective along with a ceiling fan. They will spray the room for mosquitoes at bedtime but they were never a big problem.

The room lighting is consistent with Asian/colonial style in that it consists of wall sconces and ceiling pot lamps. Our room had no table lighting and as such was a little severe. But it is true to local tradition.

The toilet room has a hand spray and a wall-mounted urinal. Both extremely handy. The bathroom has a large walk in shower stall but no tub. There are two vanities and more towel bars, shelves and hooks than anyone could possibly need. There was more than ample storage space in the room and the bathroom.

The hotel internet is particularly slow. We found that to be the case throughout Laos. However this was the slowest. I suspect there may not be much that can be done about it.

Breakfast is served in the most beautiful space in LP. The hotel dining room is on the riverbank, across the road from the hotel, in what can only be described as a tropical garden. The buffet was comprehensive and eggs, crepes and Asian dishes could be ordered à la carte. All in all a great way to start your day. And, having dined here for a couple of evening meals, I can say that it is one of the finest dining rooms in town.

The hotel owner, Urban, is present seemingly all the time. No request is too great. He made you feel like his houseguest. We will miss his daily breakfast visits and chats. His staff are as welcoming as he. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

They have golf carts with which they will take guests anywhere in town. And they provide complimentary airport transfers.

I checked out rooms in a couple of other, more expensive properties and neither of them showed the same attention to detail or comfort.

This is a unique property in a unique location. Don't miss it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    71
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
66
293
67
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Udon Thani, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Almost 30 years of frequent business travel in several parts of the world has given me the experience of many hotels. Let me get directly say that Mekong Riverview Hotel is a gem, no, a diamond! Location on the river, the surroundings and the atmosphere is like in a dream. Add to this the care that has gone into all the little important details and the great hospitality.
For example, at breakfast there are several kinds of tea bags, loose tea and ready-brewed tea in addition to coffee. For this large heated tea mugs and hot milk. Unfortunately, this is rare in many hotels.
The hotel was so pleasant that I had little time to explore Luang Prabang, therefore
I will return soon, then together with my wife.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We loved everything about the Mekong Riverview. The owner was overseas so we did not meet him. For that reason, I am writing this review. I would like him to know that from our arrival to our departure we were impressed with the proactive helpfulness and friendliness of ALL the staff.
We also stayed in another 'equivalent' hotel in Luang Prabang so have something to which we can compare the Mekong Riverview and I would say that on all counts the Mekong Riverview is superior.
Why? Well firstly the location is unbeatable. The view from the restaurant/breakfast area is of the confluence of the rivers and you could easily sit and watch the activities on the river all day. The highlight was watching the monks walking across the bamboo bridge each evening at sunset.
We chose an upstairs river facing room in the new building so that we could enjoy that view of the river over drinks at night from our very comfortable, and reasonably private balcony. The room was lovely, decorated with flair. The fresh long stemmed roses on the table added to to the warm homely feel.
The bed is worth a mention...supremely comfortable. Legs tired after walking around..just lie down and adjust the bottom of the bed to raise your legs up. Or raise up the back so you can sit up in bed. Just flat was fine for me though.
Walking into the night markets or to the many close by restaurants is easy and pleasant and takes maybe 10 minutes. But a few times we took advantage of the free golf cart to take us to the night market and then walked back. Just being lazy really :-) Everything is included, breakfast (excellent choices and great coffee), airport transfers, bikes if you want them, wifi, afternoon cake, soft drinks in the minibar...it feels generous.

If you like your holiday experience hermetically sealed from the local sights and sounds, stay at one of the more 'resort style' places. At the Mekong Riverview, with the balcony doors shut it's pretty quiet but if you open them up you may hear roosters in the morning, you will hear laughter and bicycle bells as people go by (we watched a wedding parade one morning), and you will hear the scooters when you have the balcony doors open during the day (but it gets really quiet at night), and you might hear distant chanting of the monks at certain hours. We loved all that. I only wish we could have stayed longer than 3 nights. We will next time.

To the owner, I'm sorry we did not meet you to say this in person but congratulations on your excellent staff who made our last 3 days in Laos an absolute pleasure.

Room Tip: River facing and upstairs is my preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

When we first booked the place, we were hesitant whether to stay else where. But we did not regret our choice one single time - we just regretted having to leave this paradise on earth after five days. Everything deserves top marks, but its location on the spot where the Mekong and the Nam Khan river join, is unbeaten. The view from the terrasse overlooking the rivers is unreal - especially at 7 am with the rising of the sun. Anybody who has experienced its beauty, will surely never forget it. The breakfast buffet makes the morning "ceremonies" even more rememberable - the generous choice and its quality cannot be toped! The staff goes out of its way to please its guests - whether at the front desk or a the restaurant. The owner, Urban from Sweden, obviously does an excellent job and is to be praised for his management. He is a gifted host and his biweekly wine tastings near the river (with the purpose to link the hotel guests) is a nice and clever idea - it works out very nicely. The only negative remark goes to the quality and price of the dinner served at the riverside - it was just not worth the price and is not comparabe with the quality elsewhere at the hotel. Strongly deseves improvement. We will definitely return to Mekong Riverside Hotel and hope that, in the meantime, the traffic will not increase even more. It would be a pity!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It's worth it to get a river view room. The hotel has the restaurant across the street and the view from there is fantastic. Best place to have breakfast. The staff is very helpful and give you a map of the town and lots of information when you reach.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

When visiting Luang Prabang, I have basically been staying at the Mekong Riverview Hotel ever since it opened. I have seen it grow and develop into what it is today. It never fails to please. This hotel is the place to stay when in Luang Prabang! None of the others offer the sort of services and friendly and pleasant personal attention that you get here. Yes, some might think it's a bit on the expensive side, at least in high season, but here you really get what you pay for - and much more besides. The staff at both the hotel and its restaurant are always friendly, service-minded, attentive and accommodating. The food and the cleaning are of an excellent standard. The breakfast can keep you going into the afternoon - and should you feel slightly peckish, then the hotel offers free beverages and cake available during the day. The rooms are the tell-tale results of the Scandinavian design and planning by its Swedish owner, Mr Urban Paulsson, and typify the attention to detail he has put into the hotel. And he never lets up. There's no resting on any laurels here! Amongst the most endearing aspects of the hotel is its location. Situated on the banks of the mighty Mekong River and the views and the state of well-being all this imbibes is made for the true connoisseur and seeker of natural beauty who wants, at the same time, to enjoy all the home comforts. There is almost a family atmosphere about the Mekong Riverview Hotel, which really comes through when the owner, in his quest to bring all his guests together to get to know each other, organizes periodic early evening cocktails. A lovely touch which adds so much to the stay. Luang Prabang is not such a big place and the hotel is close enough to most things. Transport by means of a golf buggy is, however, provided for those who've done enough walking for one day or who just want to be spoilt. Free bikes are also made available for guests. If I try to find something negative about this hotel it would be the stairs up to my room this last time. In going down you have to be observant and careful, especially, I can imagine, in the rainy season, because the individual stairs are relatively small and the stairs feel a bit steep (only) when walking down. There was, however, no accident during the time that I was there! The "feel-good factor" is unmistakeable in Luang Prabang very much because of its location and beauty but the standard and quality of the Mekong Riverview Hotel and the service provided by all those working hard there enhances that factor severalfold. I just keep longing to go back - and when I do I am never disappointed.....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was my second time to Luang Prabang. The first time was around 10 years ago and the Mekong River Hotel was not around then, nor for that matter most of the other hotels in Luang Prabang.

This hotel is a bit on the expensive side for those on a budget, but in this bracket of hotels very good value for the money. The rooms are elegantly decorated, the staff charming, knowledgeable and very helpful. The owner (whose name Urban stands in total contradiction to the serenity of Luang Prabang) is a charming Swede who sold his hotel there to set up shop here.

yes, I really enjoyed this hotel and will be booking a room in May for my dad and his wife who I am pushing to visit this lovely little city.

one tip; Their restaurant is very good, especially the location. Located across the road above the Mekong River, the restaurant is very charming (in the dry season; not sure what they do in the rainy season). Anyway, I enjoyed a good dinner there, excellent breakfasts, as well as an afternoon glass of wine just hanging out there in paradise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Riverview Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Riverview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.