We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting better and better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Riverview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mekong Riverview Hotel to your Saves list
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Getting better and better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel and it surpassed the previous time, which is really saying something.

The rooms are extremely well-eqipped, spotlessly clean and most have a wonderful view of the river and the passing street life.

The staff and the manager are excedingly helpfull and go out of their way to roganise any aspect of your time around the town.

The new breakfast/dining area on the tip of the peninsula is a great place to both start and finish the day.

Bicycles are available for free and are a perfect way to see the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    58
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
261
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed in Luangprabang a few times, and the Mekong Riverview is by far the best hotel experience I have had there. To begin with, its location is where the Mekong River meets the Kok River and offers some magnificent views. The hotel is stylish and the rooms luxurious. Service is impeccable. We arrived by boat and were met by the owner and some of the staff. The owner then gave us an orientation and made us feel very welcome. The Lao receptionists and waiters/waitresses are friendly and professional. Our group of eleven wanted to participate in the monk’s morning offertory procession, and the hotel staff organized it for us. They ordered the food, took us to a local place (far from where most of the tourists gather) and even accompanied us there.
Across the road from the hotel is there restaurant is the restaurant. It offers a great breakfast and is also open for other meals. Just below is a small vegetable patch which is often tended by the young monks: it is quite spectacular watching saffron robe-clad monks tending their crops.
Everything about the Mekong Riverview is first rate and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Great find. The hotel is run professionally and the staff are wonderful. Dining is excellent as well. Breakfast is included as are soft drinks, tea and coffee. Needless to say the location overlooking the river is perfect. Book the upstairs room if available and enjoy the old world charm.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from 14th Jan - 19th Jan (5 nights). We were picked up from the airport, free gratis and our welcome was friendly and sincere. First night was the owners wine reception with free flowing wine for all guests. As previous reports have mentioned there is also occasional use of golf cart transport into the village, which is handy after a day exploring this best kept secret in Asia. The hotel is beautifully kept and spotlessly clean. There are complimentary drinks in the fridge (soft drinks only) and these are replenished every day. Upper rooms are better as they afford better views of the river And as the
hotel is in such a prime location, you do get a lot of passing tourists photographing the property, probably for return visits to Luang Prabang. Breakfasts are good, and you sit looking over the Mekong and have a great view of the passing boats and all other river life. The hotel is located 5 mins walk from the biggest temple and it's very easy to see the monks early In the morning. The laundry service at this hotel is very good too. Fresh flowers were also put into the bedrooms daily!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Quebec Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Everything here is wonderful. Exactly as promised and more. The owner is there and speaks to you daily. Everything is done to make you feel at home. If you come to this town stay here you will not regret it.. Location is close to all the sites you want to see. Restos and cafes abound in this little town. Shops and market is upbeat and very nice. The balcony of your room overlooks the river and is a little oasis to relax. A golf cart is always ready to take you where ever you want to go if you choose not to walk. I have no negative comments..

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upon our arrival to the Mekong Riverview Hotel the owner and host, Mr. Urban met us at the door. While our bags were delivered to our room he showed us a map of Luang Prabang, marked with where to go, what to do and good places to eat.

This hotel is in a quiet spot in the old town part Luang Prabang. Right on the river you have great views from your room and the wonderful restaurant. The room is large (we did not have a suite) with great woodwork and all the amenities one could want.

I highly recommend this hotel. For some reason it is not listed in any of the guide books I read. Which may be better - you are more likely to get a reservation! The staff is excellent and will help with any needs you may have.

Luang Prabang is a wonderful little city, especially old town. I recommend the Blue Lagoon restaurant and the Elephant Village. We enjoyed both!

Room Tip: As recommended by another traveler, upstairs with a view of the river. We had #25 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont california
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Since all the accolades have already been said I will just talk about which room to have. The second floor river view rooms are wonderful. Get confirmation from the hotel for these rooms. You do not want to be on the first floor as then you have no view and no privacy.

Room Tip: Second floor river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Riverview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.