We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserving of Tripadvisor Ranking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mekong Riverview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mekong Riverview Hotel to your Saves list
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Deserving of Tripadvisor Ranking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I rarely give a 5-star rating to a hotel, but Mekong Riverview definitely deserves it, as well as its number one ranking on Tripadvisor for its superb service!

Both arrival and departure airport transfers are included in the room rate. Upon arrival, the owner himself gave me a helpful welcome orientation on Luang Prabang, and the free map even had their personal scribbled advice. It is not in the town center, but you have the river view. If you don't want to take the 10 to 15-minute walk to the town center, then you can ask them to drop you off in their golf cart for free.

As for the room, I got the Superior Suite Side View Room, and it was huge and tastefully decorated! I might have had just a fragment of a view of the Mekong River from my balcony, but then there will be no lack of it once you step onto the road beside it. The bed was soft (as well as the pillows), and my only complaint about it is there was a perceptible division into two. Since one side can be adjusted to go up or down, as a single occupant I am forced to stay on one side because of the slight indentation in the middle. But it is a minor quibble. The toilet is on one side while the bathroom is on the other, so I had to cross through the hallway to get to the other. But I did have a personal jacuzzi though! Most probably it was just me who didn't know how to get hot water there though. It has free wifi which goes down at times, and there free mini-bar is fully stored with softdrinks and bottled water.

Quite frankly, one of the reasons I chose this hotel was the rave reviews about the breakfast, and it was worth it! You can have the kitchen prepare fried rice, eggs (with ham, bacon and/or sausage), banana crepe (they call it "pancake") with vanilla or chocolate sauce, the "special" (caramelized banana and pineapple), and the fruit shakes (I had dragonfruit and green melon shakes, even though it was not in the menu). And you have that with a good view of the Mekong River.

But what I really like most about the hotel is their service. Everyone is friendly and helpful with genuine smiles. I highly recommend the Mekong Riverview Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    58
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
262
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The other reviews are right: this is an absolutely excellent hotel. We stayed for four nights in August 2012, and everything about the stay was perfect. Booking was easy and we had really good email advice from the hotel staff about the choice of rooms in advance of confirming our choice. We opted for a river facing junior suite, on the upper floor. This was exactly the right choice for us, as we used the balcony to sit and watch the world go by. The room was well designed and functional, with all the facilities needed for a very comfortable stay. The bed was, as everyone says, great. Breakfast was provided in a magical location, right on the banks of the Mekong River. The choice of food was really good, with hot choices cooked to order. But what sets this hotel apart from anywhere we have stayed was the quality of the staff and their willingness to be as helpful as possible in every single instance. This clearly comes from the owner, Mr Urban, for whom this hotel is clearly a labour of love. His wine receptions, held every other night, were lovely, honest occasions for travellers to meet and chat. He was always to be seen around the hote, or around town, and we were genuinely impressed with his commitment to running not simply a first class hotel, but also one that provides good employment and remuneration for its staff. His knowledge of the town was incredibly helpful, and his tips on where to eat, or what to visit, or where to shop were all, in our experience, absolutely accurate. Luang Prabang should not be rushed. The staff will willingly take you to dinner reservations or to temples in the hotel golf cart, which makes this hotel the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor, facing the Mekong River. The views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Great place indeed!! Wonderful location. Had a riverview room in first floor which was really nice, swedish beds, great balcony... Breakfast was really nice and service perfect.
Thanks mr Urban, we shall return

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

On my first visit (backpacker style) to Luange Prabang 3 years ago, my sister and I identified the Mekong Riverview as the place to bring our parents because it has the elegance of the waterfront and proximity to the sights. They are perfectly situated near the almsgiving, which is best viewed by just planting oneself on the sidewalk around the corner and waiting for the monks to come to you as the staff also pointed out. Their location is just a step away from the congestion of city central, which offers a bit more quiet from the bustle than some of the other riverfront properties. When my mother decided to spend her 60th birthday with me in SouthEast Asia, this was a top destination choice.

What I wasn't expecting (since I never read the reviews) was the expertise and exceptional understanding of the city offered by Urban and his staff. I had my own ideas for our short visit, but the ease with which the staff was able to put together the best quality experiences was delightful. The recommendations were spot on, the annotated map quite helpful, and we were able to add and adjust our plans according to these great ideas such that it was a truly exceptional visit to the city. The staff were able to quickly check on availability of a dance performance on arrival and booked us the best seat in the house right next to the fan. The private boat ride was relaxed. The restaurant recommendations exactly matched our experience and they arranged the best seats in the house.

Since our travels in Laos were rather free-form, we made our booking quite late and arrived at the hotel by tuktuk after a bus ride. The staff came down to greet us by name as we pulled up and the personal attention to detail just flowed from that point forward. The room was all I anticipated and more since we were upgraded, but the real value is for the concierge services, recommendations and arrangements. It is definitely a five star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This is by far my favorite hotel in Asia, Roth the amazing beds imported from Sweden, breath taking views, bike and golfs carts you can use any time, staff that will help out at all times and are very honest about differs outings. The breakfast is to die for and the wine hour that they had was a great way of meeting other guests. Transportation to and from the hotel was arranged for us and included. This is a must go to hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Well much has been said about this beautiful Hotel, it's design and build respects the location near the junction of the Mekong and Nam Khan rivers. The breakfast restaurant closely overlooking these two rivers is in a ideal postion to discuss your days activities whilst enjoying the local boat operators ready for their days work. The rooms a spacious and well appointed, with a bed that is so soft and comfortable you will want one at home. Our flight from Hanio was delayed three hours but the staff from the Hotel meet us at the airport with a warm and friendly manner.
Upon arrival at the Hotel the owner Mr Urban Paulsson greeted us and welcomed us in. The staff here as many people have said are some of the most genuinely friendly people we have dealt with at hotels around the world. I believe this due to there genuine friendly nature and the way in which Urban has fostered and trained his team.
Well done Urban and staff, we are sorry we could not stay longer,

Chris

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Given the glowing reviews and the recent Trip Advisor award there's not much for me to add apart from jumping on the 5 star bandwagon like everyone else!

The customer service is genuinely superb and light-years beyond anything we have experienced before:

- We were allowed to keep the room free-of-charge as we spent one day overnight at the Tiger Trail Elephant Camp.

- We were also upgraded to a suite (albeit having booked in the August low-season) which had a spacious and throughly modern bathroom with shower cubicle and ergonomic bath, plus the amazing adjustable Swedish beds. The room also came with a mini-bar packed with free soft drinks - water, Coke, Sprite etc.

- At any time the staff are happy to spin you around the town in the golf cart. Luang Prabang might be tiny but after a full day of walking around it's quite a luxury to be chauffeured to your evening meal!

- All the staff wore genuine smiles and spoke good enough English to have a proper conversation with

- The private trips (and laundry service) were great options, albeit more expensive. You are paying for the convenience and comfort of a private car / boat though, which is worth considering if you don't want the hassle of dealing with the tuk tuk drivers / boatmen (some of whom are in no rush, so you might find yourself sitting around for a while whilst they wait for more customers)

- Urban has also provides a comprehensive guide to life in Laos / Luang Prabang - complete with labelled maps and lots of important cultural hints & tips. Every other night he throws a free wine evening which is very generous, plus he is there upon arrival to see you are settled in OK. His love for the country and the people is very apparant and it makes your whole stay much more enlightening and fulfilling

The outside terrace for breakfast and afternoon drinks is absolutely stunning, right on the corner of the Kahn and Mekong rivers, and away from the hustle of the main street. The food was also decent enough, although it closes at 5pm which is a bit disappointing

There are no doubt much cheaper places to stay, just as there will be more opulent ones. We felt the balance was perfect though - just enough luxury to keep you relaxed but nothing unneccesarily extravagant (Luang Prabang is not about spas and fine dining, it's about getting back to basics and immersing yourself into a genuinely warm, spiritual and unique culture)

Thank you to Urban and all the staff for an amazing 5 days!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have balconies facing onto the road but it's such a quiet town you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mekong Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverview Hotel

Address: Mekong Riverside Road, Xieng Thong Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful boutique hotel with a personal touch, located on the tip of the peninsula, at the very end of the old town, on the UNESCOs World Heritage Area. The view you have from the rooms and Café/Restaurant is the meeting of great Mekong River and Nam Khan River. The Hotel is quiet and peaceful with the beautiful former Royal temple Wat Xienthong as your neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mekong Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mekong Riverview

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mekong Riverview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.